RSS

Raspberry Cream Cheese Pastry

05 Sep

Raspberries were in my CSA box this week.  I love the challenge of making something different each time I get some in my box.  I’ve conquered the sorbet, the gratin, a cake, a crumble and a cheesecake.  What else could I possibly do.

I could raid my freezer, fridge and pantry is what I could do.

I had some puff pastry in my freezer, some cream cheese, eggs and lemons in my fridge, and some vanilla and powdered sugar in my pantry.

This is what I wound up with in the end….

Mmmmmm…

Oh yeah…(don’t mind my messy plate..my fingers cannot help themselves)…

What you need:

  • 4 oz cream cheese at room temp
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 egg yolk
  • 1/2 C powdered sugar
  • 1/2 pint fresh raspberries
  • 1 sheet of puff pastry thawed out
  • egg wash and granulated sugar

With a wisk beat together the cream cheese, vanilla, lemon zest, egg yolk and powdered sugar.  Mixture will be thick and yellowish in color. Please try and refrain from eating it all before you put it in the puff pastry.

Cut your puff pastry in half with a pizza cutter.  Place one half on a grease cookie sheet.  Top with cream cheese mix and raspberries.  Do not fill to the edges.  Paint egg wash around edge with a basting brush.  Carefully place other half of puff pastry on top.  Crimp edges and baste with egg wash and sprinkle with sugar.

Bake at 375 for 25 mins or until puff pastry is deep golden brown.  Let cool! Don’t be a dummy like me and go at it right as it comes out of the oven.  Yeah, you will burn your mouth.  Ouch!

Enjoy!

 
11 Comments

Posted by on September 5, 2008 in cream cheese, puff pastry, rasberries

 

11 responses to “Raspberry Cream Cheese Pastry

  1. Megan Wallace

    September 5, 2008 at 5:31 PM

    Beautiful… looks so yummy, and rasp. + creamcheese?
    *drools*

     
  2. sarahnett

    September 5, 2008 at 5:36 PM

    Thank you so much!

     
  3. Staria

    September 5, 2008 at 7:05 PM

    In Puerto Rico we something like that, but without the Rasberries. they are called “quesitos” or “tiny cheeses”. Your recipe looks awesome!

     
  4. sarahnett

    September 5, 2008 at 7:12 PM

    There is a bakery here in town and he makes quesitos. They are awesome.

     
  5. Laurie

    September 8, 2008 at 3:00 AM

    I made this tonight. It was soo yummy and sooo easy to make! I never ventured into making pastry puff desserts since I always thought they were complicated. You made this sound so easy and in fact, it was indeed easy to make (thanks to the store-bought pasty sheet!).

    Thanks again for all your creative ideas. They always serve as an inspiration to me into trying new things.

     
  6. sarahnett

    September 8, 2008 at 3:32 AM

    You are so very welcome, and thank you for your kind words. It’s compliments like that that keep me in the kitchen :)

     
  7. Heartburn Home Remedy

    April 15, 2009 at 12:55 PM

    This is very up-to-date information. I’ll share it on Delicious.

     
  8. Belinda Bentz

    October 4, 2009 at 7:06 PM

    I tried this recipe, but substituted lime for lemon, blueberries instead of raspberry (because it’s what I had :) and threw in some peaches chopped up! yuum!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

