RSS

Seared Steak & Bleu Cheese over a Wilted Waido Salad

13 Jun

019

I love the fact I got a nice big head of Waido in my HighCross Farm CSA box this week.  Waido is a type of Mizuna, part of the Brassica family.  Brassicas contain glucosinolates which may inhibit the certain types of cancers. I’m just sayin’…

I decided to try a wilted salad.  I thought it would be a nice change from the normal lettuce salads I usually made with dinner.  I made a warm vinaigrette and wilted the mizuna in it.  It was fabulous.  I topped the salad with a pan seared steak that I topped with some bleu cheese.  Heaven.

Wilted Waido Salad

  • 1 shallot, finely chopped
  • 1 green garlic, finely chopped (I had some left, if you do not have green garlic, use a glove of regular garlic)
  • 1 teaspoon of fresh thyme, chopped (or use dry if you do not have fresh)
  • olive oil
  • cider vinegar (use what you want for acid here I used what I had on hand.  You can use red wine vinegar, lemon juice, whatever you desire)
  • 1 teaspoon dijon mustard
  • S & P to taste

In a large frying pan, add 2 tablespoons of olive oil.  When that heats up add the chopped shallot, thyme and green garlic.  Sautee until soft.

Add the dijon mustard and cider vinegar and wisk to emulsify.  Salt and pepper to taste.

Add the Waido and heat thru until wilted making sure you cover the greens completely with the vinaigrette.  Don’t overcook or you will get soggy greens.

Top with a seared or grilled steak.  I added crumbled bleu cheese to the top of my steak. You could also top your steak with the green garlic aioli from my previous post.  Enjoy!

018

 
1 Comment

Posted by on June 13, 2009 in bleu cheese, steak, waido

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Seared Steak & Bleu Cheese over a Wilted Waido Salad

  1. jenny thill

    June 20, 2009 at 9:50 PM

    Easy and delish!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

