RSS

Summer Squash “Pasta” with Sun-dried Tomatoes

14 Jul

There was a plethora of summer squash in my CSA box this week.  I’ve seen recipes for zucchini “pasta” and thought what better time to try it out.  I’m surprised it took me this long.

I love this concept, especially when trying to cut carbs in your diet.  It is a nice, light derivative when you don’t want a heavy pasta dish.

I love how pretty the thinly shaved squash looks with the sun-dried tomatoes I made with last season’s tomatoes.  This recipe is easy-peasy (did I just type that??)  It took me 15 mins from shaving the squash to plating.  Can’t beat that!

Supplies:

  • 2 medium summer squash (I used one zucchini and one yellow)
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter (I used my roasted garlic-chive butter)
  • 1 handful sun-dried tomatoes (If using sun-dried tomatoes in oil substitute the oil in the jar for olive oil to kick up the tomato flavor)
  • S&P to taste
  • Grated Parmesan

Take a vegetable peeler and press down on the squash with a little force to get nice, clean shaved pieces from the squash. Peel until you barely see seeds.

In a heavy sautee pan, melt the butter into the olive oil and sautee the tomatoes until warmed through.  Add the shaved squash and toss until that is warmed through as well.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Garnish with a little grated Parmesan and enjoy!

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 14, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Summer Squash “Pasta” with Sun-dried Tomatoes

  1. Deanna Bell

    July 29, 2011 at 9:16 AM

    Wow this looks great! Was just thinking I really need some recipes for all this squash we are getting. After this week’s newsletter, I decided to check out your recipe. Then I looked at your site more. Very interesting! This is my first year and I am loving it! :)

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

