RSS

Super Lemony Linguini

04 Aug

When I peeked into my CSA box at the drop off site, the smell of the lemon basil hit me with full force.  Man, I love lemon basil.  On the way home I was brainstorming on what I could do with it (Yes! I actually have time for dinner tonight! woot!).  At first I was thinking lemon basil infused lemonade (Which I still might make this weekend).  The rumbles in my belly told me I was more hungry than thirsty, so I thought some more.  Then I remembered I had a small container of greek yogurt and a couple of lemons in my refrigerator…DING!

What I came up with was a wonderful summer dish.  Very light and very lemony.  I love it and I hope you do too.

Look how gorgeous this basil is!

I rushed home, opened my box, took a picture for you fine folks and got right to cooking.

Supplies:

  • 1 small container greek yogurt
  • the rind of 1 lemon
  • juice of 1 lemon
  • A small handful of lemon basil (chopped)
  • 2 tablespoons low-fat sour cream
  • S&P
  • Cooked linguini.  (Save some of the cooking water)

In a mixing bowl I whisked together all the ingredients except the pasta.  Set aside

Cook and drain your pasta according to package directions (saving some of the cooking water).

Add lemon sauce to pasta and mix thoroughly.  This will thicken up so loosen with a little bit of the pasta water ( I did it by ladle fulls).

Garnish with some whole lemon basil leaves and enjoy.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 4, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Super Lemony Linguini

  1. Rob

    August 4, 2011 at 7:37 PM

    That sounds good. I’ve been using greek yogurt mostly as a dressing w/olive oil, dill and honey, etc. But I have an abundance of Basil and that sounds tasty.

     
  2. Jillian Imilkowski

    August 12, 2011 at 6:16 PM

    Oh. My. God! I absolutely LOVE this dish!! I added some sauteed patty pan squash with the sweet onions and garlic (all from Highcross Farm CSA) and a handful of shrimp. Paired it with a nice white wine from Vouvray and VOILA! Thank you for helping me figure out what to do with the Lemon Basil!! Now off to the kitchen again to make the Beet Donuts (Muffins) for desert…

     
  3. Paul

    August 24, 2011 at 3:24 PM

    Great pictures, Sarah, and everything looks wonderful.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

