RSS

Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

05 Apr

I decided to return to the land of the living.  It certainly has been an adjustment since Jeff died.  What a long few months.  I’m slowly but surely making my way back into the fold.  A lot of adjustments have been made.  My daughter has taken on a second job to help out, my son is getting ready to finish high school then will be moving to Milwaukee with his friends.  A lot of change…all at once.  Sometimes I have a hard time wrapping my head around it all.  But I digress.

What I did notice as the dust was settling was I missed cooking.  I missed my alone time in the kitchen.  I miss the time I would take to pray, ponder and reflect. I now work only half days on Thursdays with not much to do in the afternoons.  With that being said, the sun is shining on this Thursday afternoon and  the air is cool. What a perfect day to bake!

I had some really soft bananas, less than half a bag of chocolate chips and one fierce craving for banana bread.  After a look-see to make sure I had butter and eggs (farm fresh even!) I rolled up my sleeves and got to work.

The recipe I have makes a large, rich, moist loaf with just enough sweetness from the chocolate chips.  I use butter instead of oil and I added sour cream to give it a teeny bit of tang.  It’s wonderful.  Slather a warm piece with some butter and you will have a religious experience :)

Supplies:

  • 3 overripe bananas, mashed
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 1 stick of butter, room temperature
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/2 C sour cream
  • 1/2 C brown sugar
  • 1 3/4 C whole wheat flour
  • 1 tablespoon baking soda
  • 1/4 tablespoon salt
  • 1 C semi-sweet chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350.  Grease the bottom and side of a 9×5 inch loaf pan.

In a separate bowl, sift together flour, salt and baking soda.  Set aside.

In your mixer cream together butter and brown sugar.  Add mashed bananas, eggs, sour cream and vanilla. Mix until well combined.

Gently add flour mixture until well combined.  Stir in chocolate chips.

Pour batter into loaf pan and bake for 60-70 minutes or until a toothpick comes out clean.  Let cool and enjoy!

Ohhhhh yeah baby…

 

 

 
4 Comments

Posted by on April 5, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

4 responses to “Whole Wheat Chocolate Chip Banana Bread

  1. czautcke

    April 5, 2012 at 5:32 PM

    The sliced bananas on top are a nice touch!

     
    • Sarah Nett

      April 5, 2012 at 5:40 PM

      Thank you!

       
  2. Lisa

    April 6, 2012 at 9:53 AM

    So great to see you back cooking! I have always looked forward to your recipes and have missed your posts. You have remained in my prayers and I wish you and your family strength in this transitional time.

     
  3. Samantha Barcel

    June 28, 2012 at 1:16 AM

    Made this last night…yum!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 109 other followers

