RSS

Chocolate Caramel Brownie Toffee Trifle…Yeah!

31 May

Image

I love this time of year.  I needed warm weather and the sun on my face to pull me out of a very hard, depressing winter.  Life sure isn’t the same without Jeff.  I really hope he is resting in peace.

Some new developments in the Nett household:  Ryan is done with high school and will be moving down to Milwaukee with friends in a few weeks. He will be missed, but is always welcome back home.  Cassidy has been working and helping out around the house.  I really do have two children to be very proud of.

I’ve kept myself busy.  I’m attempting to see if I can grow anything in the raised bed on the side of the house.  We shall see.  I do not have a green thumb at all.  Plants come to my house to die, but I digress…

I did have a chance over the holiday weekend to bang out an amazing dessert for my friends.

I love trifles.  All those pretty layers, each layer tasting better than the next.  This one was quite amazing, if I do say so myself.  You can never go wrong with chocolate.  The hardest part about this trifle is making the brownies…darn. Be prepared to here a lot of oooooos and aaaaaaahs.

I was inspired by a recipe found here.  I put my own slacker spin to it.  There is nothing homemade about this recipe.  Everything came from a box or a container with no shame..hehe

You will be asked to make this again, I guarantee it.

Supplies:

  • 1 box of brownie mix (get one for a 13×9 pan, NOT 8×8)
  • 1 large tub of Cool-Whip Light
  • 1 large box of Jell-O instant Chocolate pudding
  • 1 container of Smuckers Sundae Syrup – Caramel (Get the kind you can squeeze out)
  • 1 bag of crushed Heath toffee pieces

Make the brownies according to package directions and set aside to cool completely.  Also, make the chocolate pudding according to package directions and let chill in the refrigerator for a good hour to firm up a bit.  It won’t get stiff, but will be the perfect consistency to mix in the cool whip.

After the pudding has chilled and firmed up, take two good dollops of cool whip and gently fold in.  This will give your pudding more of a mousse-like texture.  Set aside.

Turn your cooled brownies onto a cutting board and cut into cubes.  Set aside.

Gather your trifle bowl, or other deep vessel and the remaining ingredients.

This is how I layered my trifle:

  • Brownie pieces (enough to cover the bottom of the bowl)
  • Chocolate pudding mixture (spread over brownies evenly with offset spatula)
  • Cool whip (spread over pudding evenly with offset spatula)
  • Caramel drizzle
  • Toffee pieces

Repeat this until your last layer is cool whip.  Drizzle on some caramel and top with toffee pieces.

Put in the refrigerator to set.  Take out when ready to serve and ENJOY!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 31, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Chocolate Caramel Brownie Toffee Trifle…Yeah!

  1. Paul

    May 31, 2012 at 7:28 AM

    NIce to see you doing this again!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

