RSS

Strawberries

09 Jun

I love this time of year.  That short window of late spring/early summer that is strawberry season.  Jeff and I would always make a pilgrimage to Mischler’s Berry Farm right outside of Waupun, WI. He loved it there. The owner is a super nice guy and his berries are amazing.  He would always come by and ask how we were doing. If they berries were to small for our liking, he was more than happy to move us to a different spot or help us find good ones.

It was a bittersweet trip this year without Jeff, but well worth it.  I even love the drive out to the berry farm.  You have to cross the Horicon Marsh and the scenery is absolutely breathtaking.

The farm sits atop a hill with seriously awesome views of the marsh.

Amazing.

I used my time out in the strawberry fields to do some thinking, some grieving and make some future plans.  I tend to do that a lot when I’m all by myself.  The weather couldn’t have been more perfect and the berries were a good size for the first bunch of the season.

I wound up walking away with a nice haul.

Be ready for an onslaught of strawberry posts…

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

