RSS

Strawberry-Balsamic Sherbet

09 Jun

Let me start out by saying I love sherbet.  As a kid, my pick at the ice cream stand was rainbow sherbet.  I love this sorbet/ice cream hybrid.  I love how it’s creamy, yet tangy.  I will never tire of sherbet.

I knew I wanted to make something with my strawberries in the ice cream maker, but didn’t want traditional strawberry ice cream (not really a fan), and definitely didn’t want a sorbet (tends to get a little icy for my taste).  Then it dawned on me…Sherbet!  I had to scour the internet because I had no clue and found a few variations on how to make it.

Some recipes were cream based, some milk and others buttermilk.  Some recipes called for a ton of sugar or a boat load of lemon juice.  I loved that all the recipes I found had no eggs involved whatsoever.  I took a little of what I found online and threw in a bit of me.

To get the tang I opted to use buttermilk (I made my own, more on that later), very little lemon juice. To up the strawberry flavor profile while still giving it tang, I used strawberry balsamic vinegar from Oro di Oliva.  Side note:  If you are ever in the Milwaukee area, Oro di Oliva is one of the best places to get oils and vinegars.  It’s located in Wauwautosa, WI and well worth the trip.

I found the strawberry balsamic gave my sherbet a nice depth in flavor and great color.  You if you don’t have strawberry balsamic, you can certainly use regular.  I also chose to make my own buttermilk so I can control the fat content.  I used a mix of skim milk and half and half.  The measurements are as follows:

  • 1/2 C skim milk
  • 1/2 C half and half
  • 1 tablespoon lemon juice (or you can use white vinegar)

Pour the first two ingredients into a container and mix together.  In a large measuring cup add 1 tablespoon of lemon juice or vinegar.  Add the milk mixture until you reach one cup. Let stand for 5 minutes.  This will give the milk mixture enough time to sour.

Now to make the Sherbet…

Supplies:

  • 1.5 – 2 lbs fresh strawberries, hulled and halved
  • 3/4 C granulated sugar
  • 4 tablespoons strawberry balsamic vinegar (you can use plain balsamic as well)
  • 2 tablespoons lemon juice
  • 1 C butter milk
  • 1/4 C half and half
  • 1 piece of plastic wrap
  • Fine mesh colander
  • Blender
  • Ice cream maker (I used the ice cream maker attachment for my kitchenaid)

In a medium nonreactive bowl (I used glass) add the berries, sugar and balsamic.  Mix well and let sit for 30 minutes stirring occasionally.  You will notice a lot of liquid will be pulled out. That’s ok!

Once the berries have macerated, add them to a blender and add the lemon juice.  Puree until smooth.  Add the buttermilk and half and half, blend well.  Strain mixture through a fine mesh colander into a clean bowl to get a good amount of the seeds out.  You won’t get them all out and that’s ok.  Cover mixture and let chill.  I suggest you chill overnight.  You will notice it’s a bit thicker and that’s a good thing.

Once your mixture has chilled completely, add it to your ice cream maker and churn according to your maker’s instructions.

Let the sherbert mix slowly to incorporate some good air into it.  It should looks something like this… (I apologize for the less than stellar pics, I had to use my camera phone)

Transfer your sherbet into a freezer safe container.  Cover with a piece of plastic cling to prevent ice crystals from forming on top and let freeze until desired firmness.

Enjoy!  You will absolutely love the flavor of this sherbet.  I am glad I have enough strawberries to make another batch.  If you make this, send me an email tell me what you thought!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 9, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

3 responses to “Strawberry-Balsamic Sherbet

  1. Steve Grobschmidt

    June 11, 2012 at 3:07 PM

    This looks fabulous. Will have to try it!

    My wife and I recently discovered Oro di Oliva, and it has immediately become an addiction. There’s a wealth of good balsamics, infused oils and vinegars there.

    Just for the Wisconsites and visitors out there — there’s also a location in Whitefish Bay, and I think recently it was announced that one’s going into the Public Market in downtown Milwaukee.

     
  2. Samantha Barcel

    June 18, 2012 at 11:48 AM

    Made if this weekend for Father’s Day. Very, very good, am keeping this in my recipe box! The flavors really go so well together. Thank you for the post!

     
  3. bathroom melbourne

    August 4, 2013 at 12:20 PM

    Mr Blair continued, had to develop better ways to respond to the allegations of
    impropriety. Spent my profit and more, the thought of 70s remodeling your house
    just to sell it in near future. While one can build a home in
    it, you may want to sell the house later, this is typical.

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 108 other followers

