RSS

Arugula Pesto

17 Jun

If you are a reader of my blog, it is no secret I love pesto.  Pesto is easy, it’s a much better alternative for sandwiches than mayo and it melts like butter and makes pasta amazing.  If I have it, I put pesto on everything.

I picked up a gorgeous bunch of arugula at the farmer’s market and knew exactly what I was going to do with it.  I haven’t had pesto all winter.  I refuse to use jarred pesto.  I don’t say that as a food snob, but nothing beats freshly made pesto.

Pesto consists of five main ingredients: A leafy green (normally basil, but I have used kale and arugula), a (for me) toasted nut of some kind, grated hard cheese, garlic and oil. There really aren’t exact measurements with pesto, to me at least.  I just take what I have and throw in an amount to my liking.

This is what I used for this batch of pesto:

  • 1 large bunch of arugula
  • 3 garlic cloves
  • Any nut of your choosing (toasted or nontoasted)
  • Roasted walnut oil (courtesy of Oro di Oliva)
  • A handful of shredded Parmesan/Romano cheese

For this batch of pesto I toasted up some bottom-of-the-bag nuts; You know that less than a handful of nuts you save in your pantry for God knows what.  I used pine nuts, slivered almonds and walnuts.  I upped the ante on the nut profile and used some roasted walnut oil in place of olive oil.  Talk about incredible, wow!

Put everything into a food processor or blender (except oil) and pulse until everything is well chopped and blended together.

Slowly pour in oil until you get the consistency you desire.  Season with salt and pepper if you want.

Store in a container and refrigerate until ready to use.

My suggestions:

  • Tossed with warm pasta and a little bit of the pasta water and covered with grated Parmesan
  • As a sandwich spread instead of mayo or mustard
  • Spooned over warm roasted potatoes

I’d love to hear how you use pesto.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 17, 2012 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 107 other followers

