RSS

Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Cupcakes

24 Mar

PBCupcake

Well hello there!  It’s been awhile! I’m still here. I’m still cooking.  I had to get over the terrible year that was 2012.  A lot of healing has taken place since Jeff died.  I still miss him so.

I’ve decided to pick myself up and get on with things.  Cassidy and Ryan are now 21 and 19 respectively and are out there in the world doing their own thing.  As they should.  So now it’s time to take care of Sarah.

I’ve dusted of the Y membership and gotten back on track with living and eating healthy.  In my quest to eat healthy while not depriving my need to bake; I came across a book called Hungry Girl To The Max by Lisa Lillien.

hungrymax

This book has been my saving grace.  It has saved breakfast, and most importantly, dessert.  One of my favorite recipes in the book is her Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Cupcakes. Are they ever good!  4 Weight Watcher points each (if you are counting) and only 135 calories.  Low fat AND low cal…SCORE!

The recipe is easy and makes 12 perfect cupcakes.

Supplies:

  • 1 3/4 C moist-style devil’s food cake mix
  • 1/2 C egg beaters
  • 1 C water
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 C Cool Whip Free (thawed)
  • 1/4 C reduced fat peanut butter
  • 2 tablespoons light chocolate syrup
  • 1 tablespoons chocolate frosting
  • 12 small pretzels (broken into pieces)

Preheat oven to 350.  Line a 12 cup muffin tin with baking cups or spray with non-stick spray.

In a large bow, whisk cake mix, egg beaters, baking soda and water until smooth.  Evenly distribute among baking cups.  Bake until a toothpick comes out clean (between 23-25 minutes).  Let cool completely.

In a small bowl, thoroughly mix Cool Whip with peanut butter.  I use a whisk for this.  In another small bowl whisk the chocolate syrup and frosting together until smooth.

Spread cupcakes with peanut butter mixture then drizzle with chocolate mixture.  Top with pretzel pieces and ENJOY!  I sure did.

I suggest keeping these in the refrigerator after frosting.  Also, don’t be alarmed if the pretzels get a little on the soft side; they still taste good and you still get that salty/sweet combo.

Oh! Before I forget.  We have a new addition to the family.  A Sphinx (hairless) kitty named Maximus Decimus Meridius (my son got him and named him) Max for short.

maxkitty

Isn’t he cute?!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on March 24, 2013 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

3 responses to “Chocolate Peanut Butter Pretzel Cupcakes

  1. tamthemonkey

    March 26, 2013 at 1:55 PM

    These look super yummy! Max is adorable!

     
    • Sarah Nett

      March 26, 2013 at 4:47 PM

      Thank you so much! I hope you like them as much as I did. I agree, Max is pretty darn cute!

      Sent from my iPhone

       
  2. Jess

    May 30, 2013 at 1:52 PM

    Does the recipe call for baking soda or baking powder because you have one written in the ingredients and the other in the instructions. Thank you!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 106 other followers

