RSS

Roasted Beet and Apple Salad

21 Jul

Normally when I’ve eaten beets, they’ve been canned beets. Sure I liked them, but nothing I would buy in the store for myself. Well I had gotten three gorgeous fresh beets in my CSA box this week and I really wanted to find a way to use them that was different from any other way I’ve eaten beets. I searched the net and found several beet and apple salad recipes. I decided to take a little from each…add my own thing and this is what I came up with.

Warm Beet and Apple Salad:

3-4 Beets trimmed and peeled (save the greens! they are great cooked)

1/4 C Balsamic Vinegar

A good handful of chopped red onion

3 tbs olive oil

1.5 tbs honey

Salt and pepper to taste

Salad greens of your choosing

Red delicious apple cored and sliced

Feta cheese

Chopped walnuts

Preheat oven to 400

Wisk together balsamic vinegar, honey, olive oil, onion and S&P in a bowl. Cut beets into sixths (or bite size pieces). Toss beets in dressing mixture and wrap in foil, place on baking sheet and cook for 40 mins. (or until you can put a knife easily into the beets). Open tin foil and cook for another 30 mins. Let beets cool down to room temp or a little warmer.

Arrange salad greens onto plate and spoon as much of the remaining dressing over them. Top with beets, apple, feta cheese and spoon some more dressing over all of that. Sprinkle chopped walnuts on top. Enjoy.

My camera died as I was taking pics, so I apologize for the lack of picture quality. But I hope it looks appetizing to you all.

One more…

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 21, 2008 in Beets, salads

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Roasted Beet and Apple Salad

Leave a Reply

 
