RSS

Raspberry Gratin

23 Jul

No meal at my house is complete without dessert. As I stated in my prior post, I was blessed with a bin of goodies from HighCross Farm. Part of the goods were two containers of raspberries (black and red).

The last time I had raspberries, I made sorbet. This time I wanted to make a warm dessert with them. I fiddled around with a panna cotta recipe and included marscapone cheese and made a Rasperry Gratin of sorts..

It looks like a cake…but oh no….

Closer…

Inside…

This was beyond good. You have the warm…creamy..sweetness of the custard with the tartness of the berries and the crunch of the pistachios. Definitely a winner.

Note: I doubled the recipe since I do not have gratin dishes. I sprinkled chopped pistachios on top of mine, but put whatever you like on yours. 🙂

Marscapone Raspberry Gratin

1/2 cup (4 oz) mascarpone, at room temperature
1/4 cup sugar
1 tsp vanilla bean paste or 1 tsp vanilla extract or 1/2 vanilla bean, seeded
1 egg + 1 egg yolk
3/4 cup heavy cream
1 cup fresh raspberries

In a large mixing bowl, whisk the mascarpone with the sugar until smooth. Add the vanilla, the egg and the egg yolk. Whisk until fully incorporated and add the heavy cream. Make sure everything is well combined pour into baking dish or gratin pans. (put another baking dish filled with water on the rack beneath to prevent gratin from cracking) and bake at 350 for about 45-50 minutes or until they seem to be barely set: still jiggling a little when you move the pan but not completely wobbly. They will continue to bake and set as they cool. Let cool and serve either chilled or at room temperature.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on July 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
