RSS

What a day….

23 Jul

My day stared out at HighCross Farm. My daughter and I went to help out and wound up being blessed in ways I don’t think words could describe. All I know is it was solidified that I was called to HighCross Farm.

I was sent home with a huge bin of veggies, berries, and a whole chicken. Awesome!

I am an impatient woman and really wanted to make the chicken tonight. When I got home I started the defrost process, ran some errands, then came home and got started on dinner.

One of the items in my bin today was a nice freshly picked head of savoy cabbage. With that I made an impromptu coleslaw. (All recipes will be at the end of the post)

Then I got busy on the chicken. I decided to make my honey butter chicken a recipe I found here, and use the new potatoes I had gotten today as well.

The chicken came out fantastic and I encourage anyone who may read this to try this chicken recipe out. I never thought to use honey..but once I did, I won’t go back.

The chicken was so tender and moist.

My plate. This meal was out of this world! Thanks Farmer Steve and Kath for a truly wonderful day.

Creamy Coleslaw

1 head of cabbage shredded

1 carrot shredded

  • 1 1/4 cup mayonnaise
  • 1/3 cup sugar
  • 1/4 cup cider vinegar
  • 1/4 teaspoon celery seed
  • salt and pepper to taste

Shred your cabbage and carrot. Mix mayo, sugar, vinegar, celery seed, s&P in a bowl. Pour over cabbage, stir..chill.

Honey Butter Chicken and Potatoes

1 whole chicken
2 Tablespoons butter
1 Tablespoon honey
a few sprigs fresh thyme
a few sprigs fresh rosemary
2 cloves of garlic
6 red potatoes

preheat oven to 375°

  • bring water to boil in large saucepan. add potatoes and garlic and boil for 12 min.
  • drain potatoes and rough them up in the strainer.
  • take garlic from strainer, along with the thyme and stuff into cavity of chicken.
  • slather the chicken with 1 Tablespoon of the butter and pop it the oven for 45 minutes.
  • melt remaining Tablespoon of butter and add honey to it.
  • lift the chicken up and toss the potatoes around in the pan, coating them with the juices. make room for the chicken and set it back in the pan.
  • brush honey butter over chicken and put it back in the oven. repeat every 15 minutes twice, for a total of 45 more minutes in the oven.
  • Let it sit for a few minutes before carving into. Enjoy!
 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 23, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “What a day….

  1. Mia

    July 23, 2008 at 6:52 PM

    THAT LOOKS AWESOME GIRL! Too bad Wisconsin is so damn far away! I’d make yer ass bring me some!!

     
  2. kelly

    July 29, 2008 at 5:42 PM

    oooh the chicken looks lovely! i’m happy to see it turned out so well.

     
  3. sarahnett

    July 29, 2008 at 11:25 PM

    Yay! Im glad you stopped by. I’m glad the link to your site worked too. I’m telling ya, I will never make chicken the same anymore.

     

Leave a Reply

 
