RSS

Cabbage Rolls

02 Aug

It’s Friday night, I have no kids and Im hungry! I had gotten this wonderful cone cabbage in my CSA box this week.

Isn’t it gorgeous?! But I digress..

I knew i had some hamburger, rice and tomato sauce on hand and was suddenly in the mood for cabbage rolls.   These really are not hard to make at all. Most of all, they aren’t time consuming.  This recipe gave me the chance to use the white onions I had gotten in my CSA box and the fresh garlic I had picked at HighCross Farm.  So, without further ado…the recipe

Cabbage Rolls

  • 8 nice sized cabbage leaves
  • 1 lb of lean hamburger
  • 1 cup of cooked rice
  • 2 cloves of garlic finely chopped
  • 1 medium onion finely chopped
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • S & P to taste
  • I small jar of tomato sauce

In a large soup pot, cook cabbage leaves in boiling, salted water for 2-4 mins (until soft) then drain.  In a large bowl mix: hamburger, onion, garlic, salt, pepper, rice, egg.  Carefully lay out cabbage leaves and spoon in filling.  Roll up leaves and tuck under the sides.  Place in a baking dish (I put a good spoonful of tomato sauce on the bottom so they wouldn’t stick) seam side down.  Repeat until all leaves are used or baking dish is full.  Top cabbage rolls with tomato sauce (but don’t drown them).  Bake in a 375 oven covered for 40 mins. and viola!…

Inside…

They came out incredible. And! I now have leftovers for the weekend.  Now I think I am ready for that raspberry sorbet I made last night. 🙂

 
7 Comments

Posted by on August 2, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

7 responses to “Cabbage Rolls

  1. tryingtraditional

    August 3, 2008 at 1:58 AM

    Your cabbage rolls are making me hungry! Guess what is going on the meal plan for next week.

    Our cool season was awful this year…too much rain and the plants didn’t produce good. Only two heads of cauliflower…I could eat caulliflower every day of my life and be happy. I’m hoping we make up for it in the fall.

     
  2. sarahnett

    August 3, 2008 at 4:12 AM

    We had serious flooding in Wisconsin this season, but the CSA boxes have been awesome regardless. I’m looking forward to the fall boxes. The farm I go through have sweet potatoes this year..cannot wait.

     
  3. extreme

    September 16, 2008 at 12:51 AM

    Great recipe !!! I will add it to my secret recipe book. LOOTS of sour cream and also some fried smoked bacon…Thanx!

     
  4. dadcooks

    January 22, 2009 at 1:45 PM

    Your stuffed cabbage looks great! I’m making them on Friday night to take to my son and daugther-in-law who are begging for some.

    Good luck.

    =Paul

     
  5. mk

    October 16, 2009 at 12:29 PM

    MMMM..looks so good!! When I mix the hamburger and rice is the hamburger raw or cooked? thanks!

     
    • Susan Fisher

      November 3, 2013 at 3:05 PM

      The hamburger and rice are both raw or uncooked. However you want to say it. It has to be to hold
      together

       
      • Sarah Nett

        November 3, 2013 at 4:27 PM

        Maybe it’s just a bad picture. They were actually pretty darn good. I suppose I could’ve added more egg or perhaps some parm to help bind it tighter, but this was super delicious just the way it was.

         

Leave a Reply

 
