RSS

Warm potato salad

04 Aug

I work at a job that pretty much has me working through my lunch break.  I like to make things that will carry me through most of the week so I don’t fret about not having anything to eat during the day at work.  I usually keep that in mind when I plan my meals.  Tonight was no exception.

There was a recipe for dill potatoes in the HighCross Farm CSA newsletter. Sadly, I did not have the white wine or the white wine vinegar the recipe called for.  The thought of a warm pototo salad sounded good to me still, so I improvised.  I had some new potatoes and fresh dill from my CSA box and the fresh garlic from my day at HighCross Farm.

I took these…about a pound or so.

cut them into quarters and then steamed them until fork tender.  I like to steam my potatoes rather than boil.  They dont get water logged and tend to be a bit firmer and not so mushy.

Then I took…

  • 2 tbs of spicy mustard
  • I good handful of fresh dill…chopped
  • 1/4 C of rice wine vinegar
  • 1/2 C of olive oil
  • Salt and pepper
  • 1 glove of garlic minced
  • 1 small shallot minced

All measurements are approximate and really went by constant tasting.  If you feel 1/2 cup of olive oil is too much, add less. Adjust to your taste.  Mix mustard, salt, pepper, garlic, onion and vinegar together.  Wisk ingredients while slowly drizzling olive oil in. Wisk until emulsified.  You should get something that looks like this…

I let the dressing sit in the fridge for 30 minutes to let all the flavors marry.  This tends to make quite a bit.  I saved half to use as a chicken marinade for later this week.  Add as much dressing as you see fit to warm potatoes and gently mix until all the potatoes are covered with dressing.  This is what you get…

one more..

Again, feel free to substitute.  If you don’t like spicy mustard, use dijon. No dill, try fennel. Whatever you like.  Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 4, 2008 in potatoes, salads, Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
