RSS

CSA Thursday…

08 Aug

My favorite day of the week!

I had gotten an email requesting a list of what was in my box.  I copied and pasted this from the HighCross Farm CSA newsletter.

Lettuce – One head of Red Salad Bowl, an oakleaf type, one head of Red Sails, a red leaf type, and one head of Merveille De Quatre Saisons, a butterhead type.

Arugula – This crop is winding down; we will have more really nice arugula again in the cooler weather of Fall.

Summer Squash – Zucchini and patty pan types (see comments and recipes in last week’s newsletter).

Onions – Walla Walla Sweet, or Ringmaster White Sweet Spanish, or Redwing long storage type.

Cucumbers – The first of the season; they will be in your box regularly for most of the summer.  See recipe below.  Send us your favorite cucumber recipes.

Broccoli – Good tasting and good for you!

New Potatoes – Three pounds.  Freshly dug this morning.  See Sarah’s website for Recipes.

Garlic – These have been curing up in the barn loft for several weeks and are now ready for distribution; they will be in the boxes every other week or so for the rest of the season.

Braising Greens – Asian Greens: a head of Waido.

Red Raspberries – One half pint.
Basil is one of the most versatile herbs.
My thoughts on this weeks box…
I love that huge red onion! I can’t wait to try the asian greens. Yay! cucumbers!! Im pleased as always.  I’ve said it once, I’ll say it a thousand times.  HighCross Farm never disappoints!
 
4 Comments

Posted by on August 8, 2008 in CSA

 

Tags:

4 responses to “CSA Thursday…

  1. Beverly

    August 8, 2008 at 9:16 PM

    Which is Arugala and Waido?

    and I’m guessing the basil is the little bunch that smells really strong. I also got a really little bunch of something with 3 leaves in it… got any idea what that is?

     
  2. sarahnett

    August 9, 2008 at 12:03 AM

    Arugala is is the little bunch with three leaves. It has a peppery bite to it. Chop it up and put it in a salad or mix it in with the lettuce on a blt. Its yummy.

    Waido is an asian green, again..it too has a peppery bite. Stay tuned to my blog I will be making a cheese tortellini soup using it.

     
  3. Beverly

    August 9, 2008 at 1:35 AM

    Ahhhh… that was my problem, I was looking ( thinking) for a big bunch of arugala.

    I tasted the Waido and really liked it plain.

    I’ll watch for your recipe though.

     
  4. sarahnett

    August 9, 2008 at 1:39 AM

    I liked it plain too. I might throw some in a salad as well. I will probably make the soup on Sunday. Not sure what I’m making for tomorrow. I just made a shitload of pesto so..I might be eating that for a while.

     

Leave a Reply

 
