RSS

Raspberry-Lime Buttermilk Cake with Lime Glaze

08 Aug

I’m never one to toot my own horn, but tonight I am especially proud of myself.  When I get raspberries in my CSA box, I like to use them immediately while they are fresh.  I had made sorbet, a gratin and a crumble already and was in the mood for something a bit different.

I had searched the net for a recipe, but nothing was really popping out at me.  I have in my mind a basic cake recipe.  I thought for a while, looked at what I had in my pantry and fridge and came up with this. (Forgive the lighting in these pictures, I am by no means a professional).

Raspberry-Lime Buttermilk Cake with Lime Glaze

3 Cups flour

1 tablespoon Baking Powder

1 teaspoon Salt

1-2/3 Cup granulated sugar

1.5 sticks of butter at room temperature

3 large eggs

zest of two limes

2 teaspoons of vanilla

Juice of a lime and a half

3/4 Cups of Buttermilk

1/2 pint of fresh raspberries

Note: If you don’t have buttermilk, make your own.  1 Cup of milk with 1 tablespoon of vinegar or lemon juice.  Let stand for 5 mins and viola!

In one bowl sift flour, salt, baking powerder..set aside.  In a large mixing bowl:  Cream butter and sugar.  Add eggs one egg at a time.  Add lime zest, lime juice and vanilla and beat again.  Add dry ingredients alternating with buttermilk.  Gently fold in raspberries.  (Batter will be on the thick side).  Pour batter into a greased and floured bundt pan.  Bake at 350 for 45 minutes to an hour.  Let cool for 20 mins and gently take out of pan.  When cake is completely cooled drizzle on glaze.

Lime Glaze

1 Cup powdered sugar

2 tablespoons of lime juice (or however much gets you to the consistency you desire)

Wisk together.  Easy as that.

I couldn’t wait for my cake to cool completely, so my glazed melted literally into the cake…oooooh sooo good.

This cake is phenomenal!! The cake has just the right hint of lime and is pretty with he bright red raspberries and bright green lime zest.  The glaze is out of this world good.  Not too sweet, not too tart.  I beseech you to make this and let me know what you think.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 8, 2008 in cakes, CSA, rasberries

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Raspberry-Lime Buttermilk Cake with Lime Glaze

  1. Beth

    July 18, 2010 at 7:26 PM

    Hi, Sarah — I had fresh raspberries from my neighbor and a sack of organic limes, both of which I needed to use before they went “south”, so to speak. I also had a birthday cake to make for my hubby, so I googled ‘raspberry lime cake’ to see what was out there, and up popped your recipe! The raspberry-lime buttermilk cake is such a wonderful and unusual combination of flavors!! Very nice cake for the hot summertime. Well done!

    I overcooked mine just a bit — so you might emphasize (for those of us who need an extra nudge) that the cooking time should be monitored carefully!

    Congrats on the recipe!

     

Leave a Reply

 
