RSS

Spaghetti Squash with Cherry Tomatoes

09 Aug

Today I finally got to help out at HighCross Farm.  I absolutely adore Farmer Steve, Kath, Kyle, Darrin, Brittany and Nicole.  I really feel I was called to interact with these people since my life has been richer since I have.  Today they blessed me with some items from their garden, fresh picked by either Farmer Steve or myself.  I utilized some of those items to make tonight’s dinner.

I had gotten a gorgeous spaghetti squash.

and some orange cherry tomatoes…

and a nice bag of the most awesome lemon-basil you will ever smell or taste.

So…

I cut the squash in half and place cut side up in a microwavable dish with a 1/4 cup of water on the bottom.  Cover with plastic wrap and microwave for 10-12 minutes until the squash is soft.

In the meantime…

Chop up 2 gloves of garlic, one shallot (or small onion), a handful of lemon basil (or regular basil), and halve your cherry tomatoes.  In a large skillet heat up 2 tablespoons of olive oil and sautee garlic and shallot until clear.  Add 1/4 (give or take) cup of good white wine. (Do not use cooking wine, use a wine that you would drink) and basil and let reduce until almost half. Add the tomatoes right before you are going to add the squash.

When the squash has cooled, take a fork and run it down the squash vertically.  It will come off in strands.  Add the squash to the wine/oil mixtured you have simmering and enjoy.

My camera is a crappy one and didn’t capture the spaghetti-ness of the squash boo! It was delicious nonetheless.  You must try this.

Closer..

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 9, 2008 in CSA, squash

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
