RSS

Patty pan squash, cherry tomatoes over angel hair pasta

17 Aug

I have so many patty pans now.  I’ve already stuffed them, so this time I thought i would see how they paired up with the cherry tomatoes I had gotten in my CSA box this week.  I think they went quite nicely together.

This is what I had to work with (again, don’t mind my used-to-death cutting board)…

Here we have some basil, chopped shallot, minced garlic, cherry tomatoes and patty pan squash. Everything but the shallots came from HighCross Farm.

I took 2 tablespoons of olive oil and 1 heaping spoonful of the lemon-herb butter I made yesterday and put it in a large pan with the chopped shallots and minced garlic.  I let that sautee until the shallot and garlic where transparent then added the patty pans that I chopped up.

I let that cook until the patty pans started to get fork tender.  I added a couple of good splashes of a good white wine and let it reduce a little.  In the mean time, I cooked up some angel hair pasta to el dente.

Right before I added the pasta, I threw in the sliced cherry tomatoes and let them heat up a bit.  I added the pasta and mixed until everything was well blended.

I topped it off with a chiffinade of fresh basil and called it a meal!  It was delicious. It was nice and light. The sautee wasn’t too over powering for the delicate angel hair pasta.  It’s a great summer meal.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 17, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Patty pan squash, cherry tomatoes over angel hair pasta

  1. Jenny

    August 20, 2008 at 2:13 AM

    Hi,
    It’s fellow CSA member Jenny. I loved this recipe. We copied it tonight and it was truly a great, light summer pasta. Those tomatoes were delish…
    I also think the High Cross basil is the best looking basil I’ve seen!

    I have to admit, I’m a regular lurker on your blog-your ideas are inspirational!

     
  2. sarahnett

    August 20, 2008 at 3:41 AM

    Thank you so much Jenny, your comments are truly appreciated. I really try to mix it up when it comes to what we get in our boxes.

     
  3. Terri Murphy

    August 23, 2011 at 7:27 PM

    Thanks for your suggestion. I just happened to get the same items in my box in Walla Walla, Wa. Welcome Table Farm. I am going to try this.

     

Leave a Reply

 
