RSS

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

22 Aug

When I saw all those tomatoes and basil in my CSA box tonight, I thought for a minute what I wanted to do with them. I remembered the bruschetta I had at the Fox River Brewery in Appleton and thought it shouldn’t be hard to come up with my own take on their bruschetta recipe.  Let me tell you…it was heaven in my mouth. I urge you to try this recipe. It’s easy to make and oh so delicious.

I used both the regular basil and the purple basil I recieved in tonights CSA box. Kath grows wonderful basil at HighCross Farm.

I loved the colors with the two varieties of basil and the red and yellow tomatoes.  I love a rustic look to my bruschetta.  The traditional bruschetta recipe calls for roma tomatoes, but I think the concentrated sweetness of the cherry tomatoes adds an extra layer to the all around flavor of this recipe.

Bruschetta with Tomato and Basil

  • 1.5 pounds of tomatoes (I used all the cherry tomatoes from my csa box)
  • 2 cloves of garlic minced
  • 1 shallot minced
  • 6-8 fresh basil leaves chopped
  • 1.5 Tbsp extra virgin olive oil
  • S&P to taste
  • 1 baguette French bread or similar Italian bread
  • 1/4 C olive oil
  • Fresh Mozzarella cheese

Mince your garlic and shallots and put into a medium sized bowl.  Chop or dice your tomatoes (if you dont want as much liquid in your bruschetta, squeeze the seeds out of the tomatoes before chopping) and add to the bowl. Chop up your basil (I do a chiffinade then roughly chop that so I have some nice pieces of basil throughout). Add salt and pepper to taste then drizzle in the olive oil. Mix and let sit in the refridgerator while you prepare your baguette.

Turn on the oven to 450 F and let preheat.

Slice the baguettte on a diagonal about 1/2 inch thick.  Coat one side of each slice with olive oil with a pastry brush and set oil side down on a baking sheet. Toast on top rack for 5-6 mins just until the bread juuuuuuuuust starts to turn golden brown. Take out of the oven and turn the pieces around so they are oil side up now.

Slice your mozzarella about 1/4 inch thick or to your preference.  Place a slice of mozzarella on top of  each baguette slice.  Put back in the oven until the cheese gets soft..not melted…soft.

Take out of the oven, top with bruschetta and truly enjoy.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in basil, bruschetta

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
