RSS

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

22 Aug

I had gotten some beautiful raspberries in my CSA box this week.  I like to use them right away while they are at their freshest.  Tonight I made a white chocolate rapsberry cheesecake.

Note:  I didn’t make this until late, and I was anxious to try it before I went to bed.  Since I didn’t wait for it to cool over night the cut of the slice isn’t perfect, but it still looks good to me!

White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

Crust
18 vanilla wafer cookies or  1 1/2 C graham cracker crumbs
1 cup almonds, toasted (optional)
4 1/2 tablespoons unsalted butter, melted

Filling
4 ounces white chocolate, chopped
2 8-ounce packages cream cheese, room temperature
2/3 cup sugar
2 teaspoons vanilla extract
3/4 teaspoon grated lemon peel
2 large eggs

1/2 pint fresh raspberries

Preheat oven to 350°F. Grease 8 in. springform pan and wrap tinfoil around bottom and up the sides half-way.  In a bowl mix melted butter, almonds and crushed cookies or graham cracker crumbs with a fork.  Press crust mixture on bottom of pan and up the sides a little.  Bake for 10 mins. Set aside keeping the oven hot at 350.  Note: I put my cheesecake pan in a deep baking dish or deep broiling pan and filled it up with boiling water until its halfway up the side of the springform pan.  This will help prevent the cheesecake from cracking on top. Hence the tinfoil wrap around the pan.

Melt white chocolate in top of double boiler over simmering water until smooth, stirring often. Remove from over water. Using electric mixer, beat cream cheese, sugar, vanilla and peel in large bowl until smooth. Add eggs 1 at a time, beating just until combined. Beat in white chocolate.

Place raspberries in a layer ontop of your crust.

Pour cheesecake batter over berries and smooth with spatula until even.

Bake until edges of cake are set but center 3 inches still moves when cake is shaken, about 45 minutes. Cool 20 minutes.  After 20 minutes, run a knife around the edge of the cheesecake and carefully unhinge the sides of your springform pan.

Let chill overnight (preferrably) so the cheesecake sets completely. Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 22, 2008 in cheesecake, rasberries

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “White Chocolate Raspberry Cheesecake

  1. islandgirl

    August 22, 2008 at 5:47 PM

    Yummm… sounds and looks delicious. I was wondering, would fresh blueberries work well with this cheesecake recipe as well? I know my hub LOVES blueberry cheesecakes, and I want to try out your recipe.

     
  2. sarahnett

    August 23, 2008 at 12:00 AM

    Sure you can use blueberries instead of raspberries. I bet it would look pretty too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
