RSS

Zucchini Squash and Onions with Brown Sugar

23 Aug

One of my favorite blogs is Eat, Make, Read.  This blog is what inspired me to start my own blog.  I came across a recipe of hers that had me perplexed. How could onions, squash and brown sugar possibly be good?

Well, I threw caution to the wind and gave it a go.  I had gotten a really pretty zucchini in my CSA box this week as well as some onions.  I kept my mind open and went at it…

The supplies:

1 large zucchini
2 small onions (or one medium)
2 tablespoons unsalted butter
1 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon pepper
1 1/2 tablespoons brown sugar

I chopped up my zucchini and onions…

In a large frying pan I melted 2 tablespoons of unsalted butter.  When the butter melted I added the onions and let them cook until clear.

When onions are clear add: squash, salt, pepper and brown sugar.  Cover and let cook for 20 mins on medium heat.

After 20 minutes, take off the lid and let cook another 8 minutes to let the liquid reduce.

This isn’t a dish calling for nice, crisp zucchini as a result.  You want to cook this until the zucchini is really soft.  The brown sugar brings out the natural sweetness of the squash and the onion, but doesn’t over power. You can really taste the zucchini in this dish.  The onions turn into candy.

This is what you get in the end…

 
5 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2008 in onions, squash, zucchini

 

Tags: ,

5 responses to “Zucchini Squash and Onions with Brown Sugar

  1. Cody

    May 2, 2009 at 3:27 AM

    Looks delicious!

     
  2. Usardotorry

    May 20, 2009 at 11:14 PM

    Nice article. i will come back soon=)

     
  3. Jenni

    July 29, 2009 at 9:44 PM

    Tried this dish tonight, doubled the recipe (big family) and used more brow nsugar (to attractthe kdis) and it is FANTASTIC! thanks.

     
    • sarahnett

      July 29, 2009 at 11:26 PM

      So glad you liked it Jenni! Be on the look out for Thai Basil chicken of some sort and Cinnamon Basil Chocolate Mousse.

       
  4. Dave

    July 12, 2010 at 11:56 PM

    This was great! I omitted the onion and basically steamed the Zucchini like the recipe stated. The Mrs liked it too.

     

Leave a Reply

 
