RSS

Carrot Soup with Goat Cheese and Basil

25 Aug

I debated back and forth on what I wanted to do with the carrots I got in my CSA box this week.  Part of me wanted to make carrot cake again, part of me was craving something savory.  I haven’t been feeling well this week and the thought of a nice bowl of soup won out over a sweet piece of cake.  This is what I came up with…

Carrot Soup w/ Goat Cheese and Basil

  • 3-4 good sized carrots peeled and chopped into rounds
  • 3 tablespoons unsalted butter
  • 1 large shallot or 1 small onion minced
  • 2 bay leaves
  • 4 C water (you could try chicken stock..I was out so I used water)
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • Goat cheese
  • Basil chopped
  • Pepitas or pine nuts
  • S&P to taste

In a dutch oven sautee minced shallot or onion in the melted butter until translucent.

Add carrots and stir around until coated with butter/onion mixtured.

Add water and bay leaves. Let come to a boil then simmer for about 20 minutes or until carrots are really soft.

Puree with an imersion blender or regular blender.  Stir in heavy cream and salt/pepper to taste.

Ladle soup into bowl and crumble goat cheese in center.  Top with basil and pepitas (or whatever else you want). Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 25, 2008 in carrots, soup

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Carrot Soup with Goat Cheese and Basil

  1. Jill

    September 4, 2012 at 9:38 PM

    This sounds great. I have been itching to make carrot soup, but was thinking it needed a garnish. Thanks for the idea. 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
