RSS

Roasted Tomato Sauce

05 Sep

I had made an impromptu tomato sauce a few boxes back.  This time I wanted to try something different, take my time with it so to speak.

I decided to intensify the flavors and roast my vegetables as part of the preparation of this sauce.  I roasted the tomatoes, onions and garlic.  I think I found my new favorite tomato sauce recipe.

The supplies:

  • 2 lbs tomatoes
  • 4 cloves of garlic smashed
  • 1 medium onion chopped
  • 1/3 C olive oil
  • oregano
  • fresh basil
  • red pepper flakes (optional)
  • red cooking wine (optional)
  • salt and pepper

Alright…

Core your tomatoes and cut them in half.  I do not like rolled up tomato skins in my sauce so I like my tomatoes peeled. You can either blanch them in boiling water for a couple of minutes and peel them before you roast them, or you can peel them after you roast them.  Tomato…TomAHto…Ha! get it? Yeah….

Place cored and halved tomatoes on a deep baking sheet..(Try to cover the whole sheet).  Add the garlic, chopped onion and oregano.  Add salt and pepper to taste as well.  Now, you may have noticed I didn’t have measurements for the spices.  It’s all by taste.

Roast at 450 for 45 mins.

Scoop it all and put in in a blender or food processor, add as much fresh basil as you like and puree.  There will be quite a bit of juice on the bottom of the sheet.  You can either save it for another recipe, ditch it, or throw it in with the rest before you puree. (you will have a thinner sauce).

Whirl away to desired consistancy. Enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 5, 2008 in basil, sauces, tomatoes, Uncategorized

 

One response to “Roasted Tomato Sauce

  1. Staci ODell

    September 9, 2008 at 6:38 PM

    I made the roasted tomato sauce and added an orange and red pepper. It is awesome! I plan to make more and freeze it for the winter. Thanks for all of the recipes!

     

Leave a Reply

 
