RSS

Eggplant Parmesan

07 Sep

I love eggplant, and HighCross Farm has been putting quality eggplants in their CSA boxes.  This week I decided to make eggplant parmesan.  If I can, I do try to make my dishes on the healthier side.  Instead of frying the eggplant, I decided to bake it instead.  This produced stellar results.  I used the roasted tomato sauce I made on Thursday and all I can say is…Yum!

What you will need:

  • 1 large eggplant sliced thin
  • 2 eggs beaten
  • Italian style bread crumbs
  • Tomato sauce (as much as you feel necessary.  Some like saucy Parmesans, some don’t)
  • 16 oz shredded mozzarella cheese
  • Parmesan cheese (I used up the rest of the wedge I had)
  • Fresh basil (or dried if you like)
  • Nonstick cooking spray
  • A preheated oven at 350

Dip the sliced eggplant into the beaten eggs then into the breadcrumbs, making sure the eggplant is covered completely.  place on a foil-lined baking sheet that has been sprayed with the nonstick cooking spray.  Bake at 350 for 5-10 minutes per side (depending how think you sliced your eggplant).

Put a ladle worth of sauce on the bottom of a large casserole dish.  Place a layer of baked eggplant over the sauce.


Cover the eggplant in cheese.  Now, you don’t have to OD on the cheese like I did. I like a lot of cheese in my parmesan so it’s all sorts of gooey inbetween the layers.

Sprinkle the basil on top of the cheese.  Then repeat with the sauce, eggplant, basil and cheese until cheese is your last layer.

Bake at 350 for 35-40 minutes.  And you will get this…

Inside…

This was fantastic and my apartment smelled divine.  Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on September 7, 2008 in basil, eggplant

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
