RSS

Mexican Pizza

11 Sep

I still have a bunch of tomatoes and some gorgeous lettuce from my CSA box last week.  I think I’m over the salad for a little while and wanted to try something slightly different.

I didn’t want tacos per se, yet I was still craving mexican.  I decided to try my hand at making a mexican pizza.  It was easy, it was delicious, it is a must try.

I decided to dice up the smaller tomatoes and chiffonade the lettuce.  I think it came out beautifully.  I almost didn’t want to cut into it.

Mexican Pizza

  • Tortillas
  • 1 tablespoon vegetable oil
  • 1 lb ground beef
  • 1 packet of taco seasoning
  • 3/4 C water
  • 1 can of refried beans, heated
  • Taco style shredded cheese
  • Toppings of your liking (I used the lettuce and tomatoes from my CSA box, sour cream, green onion and hot sauce..oh yeah!)

In a large skillet place a tortilla into the heated oil.  Cook on one side for a minute, flip over and cook the other side for a minute. (you will see it bubble up, take a fork and let the air loose).

In another skillet, brown the ground beef then drain.  Add taco seasoning and water and let cook until thick

Preheat oven to 375

Place crisped tortillas onto a baking sheet that has been lightly greased.  Spread a layer of refried beans on the tortilla, then a layer of beef, then a nice bit layer of taco cheese.  Heat in oven until the cheese is nice and gooey.

Take out and put on a plate.  Top with toppings of choice.  Cut into triangles with a pizza cutter.  Put on the fat pants (this is filling!) and enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 11, 2008 in mexican, pizza

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Mexican Pizza

  1. Jenny

    September 15, 2008 at 1:02 AM

    Good idea! We had all the ingredients for burritos, but changed it up and made this instead, just as easily! It was a nice change of pace for a good Mexican dish!

     
  2. Sam

    September 27, 2008 at 5:27 PM

    Wow, this looks amazing. You’re making my mouth water! I definitely need to try this out.

     

Leave a Reply

 
