RSS

Lemon Chicken with Roasted Potato Rounds

22 Feb

I have been going through CSA withdrawals.  I miss getting my weekly farm box.  I am fortunate enough to keep in contact with my wonderful CSA farmer Steve Vogelmann.  My daughter and I were lucky enough to stop out at HighCross Farm and pay the Vogelmanns a visit.  While there we discussed the approaching CSA season and my plans for this blog amongst other things.  My daughter and I took the trip out to the farm not only to visit with the Vogelmanns, but to get one of their roasting chickens.  They have the BEST tasting chickesn ever.

I decided to forgo the usual honey-butter chicken I normally make.  I was in the mood for something that would remind me of warmer weather.  I opted for a Lemon chicken and paired it with some roasted potato rounds.  Needless to say, it was fantastic.

The supplies for the chicken:

food-yay-007

  • A good sized roasting chicken.  Mine was aprox. 5 lb.
  • Two lemons.  You will use the juice and the rind.
  • Fresh herbs.  I used rosemary, thyme, sage and marjoram.
  • Two gloves of garlic, grated.
  • Olive oil
  • S & P to taste.

By the way, how awesome is that chicken?? Nothing beats farm raised…nothing.

Rinse off and pat dry your chicken.  You can freeze the giblets for later if you so desire.

Zest the rind of one of the lemons.  I have a zester which is great, but if you do not have a zester you can grate the rind on the fine part of your box grater or use a micorplane.

Chop your herbs up nice and fine.

In a mixing bowl combine the juice of the lemon you took the rind from, the chopped herbs, lemon zest and grated garlic.  Drizzle in olive oil and whisk.  Note:  I really don’t measure the olive oil.  I drizzle, whisk and taste.  I put in enough oil to balance out the tartness of the lemon without the oil taking over.  It usually comes out to be close to a 1/2 cup.  It’s all preference. Salt and Pepper to taste.

You will get something that looks like this:

food-yay-010

Slice some lemon rounds from the other lemon and set aside.

Brush some of the marinade onto the chicken and cover with lemon slices.

food-yay-011

Put the chicken into a 375 degree oven for 45 minutes.  This lets the skin get nice and gold and crispy.  After the initial 45 mins, baste the chicken with the lemon marinade every 15 minutes until the juices of the chicken run clear.  I take off the lemon slices when they start to become too dark.

The chicken after roasting:

food-yay-017

During the inital 45 mins, prep your potatoes.  I used Yukon Gold potatoes.  I find they hold their shape well.  The skin of a Yukon Gold is thin so I don’t even bother peeling them.

food-yay-015

Slice your potatoes into rounds.  I prefer to steam them rather than boil them.  This saves time with the roasting process and they do not get water logged.

Steam your potato rounds until fork tender.

Place in a roasting dish and drizzle some of the marinade over them. ( I set aside some of the marinade in a separate bowl to avoid cross contamination).

Put potatoes into the oven after the chicken’s first 45 minutes of cooking.  They will come out golden brown and crispy on top…nice and soft in the center.

You can cut your potatoes to any desired thickness.

I like to spoon some of the left over marinade onto the potatoes while they are still hot.

food-yay-019

food-yay-0211

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on February 22, 2009 in chicken, herbs, lemon, potatoes

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
