RSS

Chocolate French Macarons

22 Mar

I have seen Macarons all over food blogs and have always wanted to know what the hype was.  I had read time and time again how difficult they were to make and that had prevented me from even thinking about trying my hand at making them. 

I came across a recipe from David Lebovitz that seemed unimtimidating.  I thought why not.  I will write out the recipe, but you can also find it here.  What you want to see on a Macaron are feet (the crinkley looking edge at the bottom of the cookie).  I managed to achieve the glorious foot on each cookie.  Phew! 

Making these was not without pitfalls.  I burned the first batch.  I think when you make Macarons for the first time it is a right of passage to mess up the first batch.  These really are live and learn.

Behold my very first attempt at making a French Macaron…(notice the “feet”)

macarons-013

They are by far perfect, but I am very proud of the end result.  I should apologize for the lack of picture quality.  It’s really hard to hold a Macaron in one hand and a camera in the other while drooling at the same time. 🙂

Chocolate Macaron by David Lebovitz

  • 1 Cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2 almond powder or pulverized almonds (I bought slivered almonds and put them in the food processor)
  • 3 tablespoons of unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 2 large egg whites, at room temperature
  • 5 tablespoons of granulated sugar
  • *Nutella (David makes a chocolate filling on his site, I had nutella handy and used that)

Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (180 degrees C).
Line two baking sheets with parchment paper and have a pastry bag with a plain tip (about 1/2-inch, 2 cm) ready.

Grind together the powdered sugar with the almond powder and cocoa so there are no lumps; use a blender or food processor since almond meal that you buy isn’t quite fine enough.

In the bowl of a standing electric mixer, beat the egg whites until they begin to rise and hold their shape. While whipping, beat in the granulated sugar until very stiff and firm, about 2 minutes.

Carefully fold the dry ingredients, in two batches, into the beaten egg whites with a flexible rubber spatula. When the mixture is just smooth and there are no streaks of egg white, stop folding and scrape the batter into the pastry bag (standing the bag in a tall glass helps if you’re alone).

Pipe the batter on the parchment-lined baking sheets in 1-inch (3 cm) circles (about 1 tablespoon each of batter), evenly spaced one-inch (3 cm) apart.

Rap the baking sheet a few times firmly on the counter top to flatten the macarons, then bake them for 15-18 minutes. Let cool completely then remove from baking sheet.  Here is where you might have to adjust.  I baked the first batch for 15 minutes and they burned on the bottom.  The second batch I baked for 10 minutes and they came out perfect.  All ovens are different, so my advice would be to keep an eye on them.  If you notice the bottoms getting a bit too dark, take them out of the oven.  Again, these are trial and error.  If your first batch is full of fail, don’t give up.

Sandwich a layer of Nutella between two macrons and enjoy.

I will keep at these and eventually get them to be perfect.  They are the perfect combination of crunchy and chewy.

More pictures…

Fresh from the oven

macarons-005

macarons-009

macarons-012

macarons-018

 
6 Comments

Posted by on March 22, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

6 responses to “Chocolate French Macarons

  1. Mel @ bouchonfor2.com

    May 6, 2009 at 6:42 PM

    Awesome job 🙂 These look very yummy. I burn things all the time, no worries.

     
  2. MixMaster

    May 17, 2009 at 6:21 PM

    Love macarons! Good job. I get mine from melangesucre.com

     
  3. Mari

    September 16, 2010 at 1:00 PM

    I just made macarons (salted caramel) for the first time last night. Yours look great – and I love that you used Nutella. I’ll have to use that in the future!!

     
  4. PH Test :

    October 28, 2010 at 3:32 PM

    we use a national panasonic food processor and this seems to be a bang for the buck-~;

     
  5. Claude

    September 15, 2011 at 1:17 PM

    I i just want to leave a quick comment to talk about that your blog site was good. I discovered it on google seek just after experiencing a lot of other information which had been probably not related. I was thinking I might discover this much sooner considering how fine the information is.

     
    • Sarah Nett

      September 15, 2011 at 1:24 PM

      Thank you so much.

       

Leave a Reply

 
