RSS

Stuffed Zucchini

10 May

009

You can tell I’m geekin’ for the new CSA season to start.  June 4th can’t get here fast enough.  I have an inventory list in my mind of what might be in the boxes this year and have been trying to come up with different ways to use the produce I will be getting in m CSA box from HighCross Farm

Last season the summer squash were plentiful.  I suspect this season will also have a good supply of summer squash as well.  I decided to see what I could make with zucchini that wasn’t a bread or deep fried.

I had done a stuffed patty pan squash recipe before here, and thought I might take that idea and use it on zucchini.  I was rewarded with a wonderful dish that will be used over and over again.

The downfall of posting my “recipes” online is a lot of time I just throw it all together.  I hardly ever measure unless I am baking.  I will do my best to give you approximates. 

Stuffed Zucchini

  • 2 zucchini
  • 1/2 pound Italian sausage 
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon dry basil leaves (when ready, I will use the basil in my CSA box, fresh is better in my book)
  • 1/2 bread crumbs
  • 5-6 cherry tomatoes
  • 1/2 cup of Parmesan cheese, divided
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • S&P to taste

Preheat oven to 400.

Sliced your zucchini in half lenghtwise.  With a teaspoon, scoop out the insides making a “boat”.  Chop up the scooped out zucchini and set aside.

Finely chop your garlic and onion.  Drizzle olive oil in a heated pan and sautee onions and garlics until they start to turn clear.  Add in sausage and chopped zucchini and cook thoroughly.  Let cool for about 10 mins. You will have something that looks like this…

002

You don’t have to, but I transferred the sausage mixture to a mixing bowl.  Add in the basil, 1/4 cup of the Parmesan cheese, bread crumbs, tomatoes and salt/pepper. 

003

Add egg and mix together.

004

Fill your zucchini with the sausage mixture and place in a greased casserole dish.

005

Place into the oven for 20-30 minutes.  When the sausage looks crispy on top and the zucchini are fork tender, it’s time to add the rest of the cheese.  Sprinkle the remaining Parmesan cheese over the zucchini and turn your oven to broil.  Broil just until the cheese melts and forms a crust.  This will take less than 5 minutes so don’t go too far.

What you get is nothing short of amazing. 

006

One more…

007

As I stated earlier, the measurements are approximate.  If you find it too dry, add a little olive oil.  Too wet, add some more bread crumbs.  Season to your liking, and most of all…Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on May 10, 2009 in zucchini

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Stuffed Zucchini

  1. ambatron

    June 9, 2011 at 6:40 PM

    This is my favorite!! I’ve only tried one of your recipes, but I hope to try more. They all look delicious!! I’m not much of a cook, but I love to eat, haha. Keep posting!!!!

     
  2. Michelle

    July 16, 2011 at 5:56 PM

    Made this tonight for dinner – FABULOUS! Thanks so much for posting your recipe! We just joined HighCross Farm’s CSA this week. Love it so far!

     

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

