RSS

Roasted Tomatoes and Shrimp w/ a Garlic Wine Sauce over Pasta

17 May

Roasted tomatoes 018

With the 2009 CSA season about to start, my mind has been racing thinking of what I can do with this season’s share.  HighCross Farm grows the most amazing cherry tomatoes ever.  I won’t see those until later in the summer so I had to suffice with store bought.

I like using the off-season time to experiment and practice.  I can’t wait to take what I’ve played with over the winter months and apply it using the best produce around from HighCross Farm.  I truly am excited for the start of the season.

The Supplies:

  • 1 container grape tomatoes, halved
  • 3 cloves of garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 small onion, finely chopped
  • 3 tablespoons olive oil
  • fresh basil, chopped
  • A good handful of precooked or uncooked (peeled and deveined) shrimp
  • 1/2 Cup (or more if you so desire) good white wine (I had a Chenin Blanc on hand)
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chili flakes (optional)
  • S & P to taste
  • cooked pasta of your choice

I took a container of grape tomatoes and sliced them in half.  I kept is simple by using  just a drizzle of olive oil and salt and pepper.

Roasted tomatoes 004

Baked them off in a 400 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes.  They should come out looking like these beauties…

Roasted tomatoes 010

Mmmm!  Tomatoes are naturally sweet; when you roast them you heighten their sweetness ten fold.  It’s like eating candy..really.

Next, I took about 3 cloves of garlic and a small yellow onion and chopped them up finely.  I sweated them out with some olive oil until they were translucent.

To that I added a good white wine and let it simmer until it reduced by half. 

This is a good time to start your pasta.

Once the wine has reduced add in your roasted tomatoes, shrimp and basil.  Let simmer until the shrimp are either heated all the way through or cooked all the way through.  You will have something that looks like this…

Roasted tomatoes 014

Cook your pasta to al dente, drain and mix into the sauce. Plate and enjoy.  This dish is fantastic!!

One more picture…

Roasted tomatoes 021

 
9 Comments

Posted by on May 17, 2009 in basil, pasta, tomatoes, wine

 

Tags: , , , ,

9 responses to “Roasted Tomatoes and Shrimp w/ a Garlic Wine Sauce over Pasta

  1. Barbara

    July 27, 2009 at 11:23 PM

    I tried you Roasted tomatoes with Shrimp and Garlic wine sasuce recipe. I loved it! My husband said it was a keeper! I didn’t have grape tomaotes, so just sliced vine tomatoes in thick slices, they did fine but fell apart when tossing into mixture. Next time I will use the grape tom. I think they will hold together better. No matter it was delicous. I also used about twice as much wine as I simmered onions and garlic.

     
    • sarahnett

      July 28, 2009 at 12:05 AM

      I’m so glad you liked it!

       
  2. KMart

    December 22, 2009 at 7:21 PM

    This recipe looks fabulous. I plan to make it for the family over the holidays. Thanks.

     
  3. Elizabeth

    January 27, 2010 at 7:48 PM

    Any chance I could freeze the leftover sauce I have to keep on hand at a another time?

     
    • sarahnett

      January 27, 2010 at 8:20 PM

      I couldn’t see why not. The tomatoes might soften up a little more, but that’s alright.

       
  4. Gloria

    August 28, 2011 at 12:43 PM

    This sounds great. I plan to try with shrimp and scallops tonight. How much pasta?

     
  5. ambatronAmber

    March 3, 2013 at 9:24 AM

    I’ve been following your blog for awhile now, but just now starting to make more of your recipes. Gonna try this one tonight before work, it looks delicious! Keep posting the wonderful recipes!!!

     
    • Sarah Nett

      March 25, 2013 at 8:18 PM

      Thank you so much!!

       
  6. New to G-Free Donna

    January 26, 2014 at 11:12 PM

    Excellent! Tasty, filling comfort food with GF pasta….all ingredients were in the house. Yum!

     

Leave a Reply

 
