RSS

Cheddar & Chive Biscuits

08 Jun

007

I loved getting chives in this week’s CSA box.  There is so much you can do with chives besides putting them on a baked potato.  I had some smokey-sharp cheddar in my refrigerator and decided to make biscuits.

These are phenomenal.  The chedder doesn’t take over the chives and vice versa.  They come out moist and flakey.

This one is a keeper.

Chedder and Chive Buscuits

  • 1 1/4 c all purpose flour
  • 3 tablespoons of shortening
  • 3 tablespoons of cold unsalted butter
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon cayenne pepper
  • 3 tablespoons of chives, chopped
  • 1 cup of shredded cheddar (I used smoked because I had it)
  • 1 1/4 c heavy cream

Preheat oven to 375 and put your rack in the center

In a medium sized bowl, mix the flour, salt, cayenne pepper, baking powder until mixed.

Cut in the shortening and butter until you have a nice crumble.

003

Gently mix in the cheese and chives. 

Add the cream and mix with a fork until the batter comes together.  Do not over mix the batter.  You will get tough, non-flakey biscuits if you do.

You will have a pretty soft and wet batter.  Don’t worry, this is a good thing.

Pat out your dough to whatever thickness you would like (they don’t rise all that much, at least mine didn’t) and cut out with a biscuit cutter or cookie cutter.

Place on a parchment lined cookie sheet and bake for 15 minutes.

Enjoy!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on June 8, 2009 in biscuits, cheddar cheese, chives

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Cheddar & Chive Biscuits

  1. Andrew

    June 8, 2009 at 4:02 AM

    Thanks so much for this Sara…I have to find time to make your fantastic recipes. I must say, I wish I knew which greens were which. I’m a novice in that area, and I’m sure it’ll continue as we get veggies I’m not used to!

     
    • sarahnett

      June 8, 2009 at 12:10 PM

      That’s exactly how I was last season. If Farmer Steve didn’t outright tell me which was which I would’ve been lost. I love that being a CSA member forces you to think outside of the box when it comes to preparing all the veggies you haven’t tried before.

       
  2. Sarah P

    June 8, 2009 at 1:23 PM

    ooo, those look great! I had some left over chicken so I made Mark Bittman’s Chicken salad w/ Olive Oil & Chives, yum.

    What did you do w/ the mint? I’m making mint sauce to have w/ roast lamb.

     
    • sarahnett

      June 8, 2009 at 2:13 PM

      I am aiming for a lemon/lime/mint sorbet. Keep your fingers crossed.

       
  3. tofugirl

    June 9, 2009 at 1:38 AM

    The only thing that can make biscuits better is cheese! Hopefully I will get some chives in my CSA box this week because I feel inspired now 😀

     
    • sarahnett

      June 9, 2009 at 1:55 AM

      Your comment made me smile. These are full proof and so easy to make. They will melt in your mouth. Let me know if you get some chives in your box and make these.

       
  4. Sarah S

    June 15, 2009 at 10:06 PM

    Sooooo, is it baking soda, or powder? You call for powder in the supplies, but mention soda in the directions.

    I started to make these and then didn’t know what to do!

    Thanks,

    Sarah S.

     
    • sarahnett

      June 15, 2009 at 10:43 PM

      I’m so sorry, it’s powder. I will fix that right away.

       

Leave a Reply

 
