RSS

Stir Fry

12 Jun

CSA2 025

Before I go into the recipe, I will let you all gaze in awe at the baby bok choy I got in my CSA box today.

CSA2 014

Are you done?  heh. How gorgeous is that??

I used the baby bok choy to make one awesome stir fry. 

Supplies

  • I baby bok choy, chopped
  • 1 lb of stir fry beef (found in most supermarkets)
  • 1 lb (or less) raw shrimp
  • 1/2 bad of julienned carrots
  • 1 can sliced water chestnuts
  • 1 good handful of snow peas
  • 1 bag of chow mein noodles (boil these until al dente, drain and set aside)
  • 3 -4 tablespoons of stir fry sauce of your choice (I used garlic and ginger)
  • 4 tablespoons oil, separated
  • sesame seeds for garnish

In a wok, deep skillet, or dutch oven, heat 2 tablespoons of oil and stir fry beef and shrimp.  Stir fry until the shrimp turn a bright orange in color.

Add remaining oil and veg (water chestnuts, carrots and snow peas).  Stir fry until heated through.  I like my veg on the crunchy side.  If you want, you could stir fry until your carrots were soft.  Add the bok choy and stir fry until leaves have wilted. if you chopped the bottom part of the bok choy as well, cook it until its soft-ish with a bite still left to it. 

Add the stir fry sauce and chow mein noodles.  Plate, and sprinkle with seasame seeds.

CSA2 016

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 12, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

3 responses to “Stir Fry

  1. vegetarianperspective

    June 13, 2009 at 1:20 PM

    Love your blog! I’m curious, who gets to enjoy your beautiful food? It’s fabulous!

    Another Sarah, but from Minnesota.

     
    • sarahnett

      June 13, 2009 at 2:01 PM

      Thank you so much. My two children and myself get to enjoy all of this good stuff. My son is vegetarian so I work around him..at least try to.

      Nice to meet another Sarah from the Midwest!

       
  2. Lori Pasto

    June 14, 2009 at 7:27 PM

    Sarah,

    The stir fry looks amazing!! My mouth is watering and I just can’t wait to get started!

    Lori

     

Leave a Reply

 
