RSS

Baked Chicken with Sage Pesto & Balsamic and Honey Baby Beets/Greens

01 Jul

003

Why, yes I am on a pesto kick.  Thanks for asking :).  I have a small herb garden growing on my balcony.  I love it.  HighCross Farm has spoiled me when it comes to fresh produce.  Herbs are no exception.  My potted sage is getting away from me so, I figured I better use some up.

Since I had some garlic and slivered almonds left over, I decided to make a pesto with the sage.  I took the pesto and slathered it all over some chicken breasts. 

I also had some beautiful baby beet greens that were in my CSA box.  I decided to cook them on the stove top in some honey and balsamic vinegar.  I used the onions and garlic I had gotten at HighCross Farm on Sunday evening as well.  Fabulous!

I started cooking at 6 pm.  I was finished eating by 7:30, that’s how quick and simple this dish is to make.

Sage Pesto

  • A good handful of fresh sage
  • 2 gloves of garlic
  • a handful of slivered almonds
  • Olive oil
  • S & P to taste
  • 2 – 3 bone in chicken breasts

In a blender combine the sage, almonds and garlic until finely ground.  As the blender is going, slowly drizzle in enough olive oil to make the sage mixture a paste-like consistancy.  You dont want it too greasy or too try.  Add salt and pepper to taste.

Slather the pesto over the the chicken breasts and underneath the skin.

Bake at 375 for 40-45 minutes.  You know it’s done when the juices run clear.

Balsamic and Honey Baby Beet Greens

  • 4 c chopped baby beet greens
  • peeled and sliced baby beets from greens (optional)
  • 1 medium sized onion, chopped
  • 3 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 5 sprigs fresh tyme
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon butter
  • 2.5 tablespoons honey
  • 1/2 c balsamic vinegar
  • S & P to taste

Heat the olive oil and butter until butter has melted.  Add onion and garlic and sautee until onions are translucent. 

Add the honey and balsamic vinegar.

Add sliced baby beets and let cook for about 5 mins.  Add the chopped beet greens and thyme and let cook until greens have wilted.  Add salt and pepper to taste. 

That’s it.  I love the balsamic vinegar/honey combination.  It pairs so nicely with the beets and greens.  The chicken is to die for.  If you still have almond or garlic chunks in your pesto that’s ok.  They crisp up while baking.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on July 1, 2009 in Beets, chicken, greens

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Baked Chicken with Sage Pesto & Balsamic and Honey Baby Beets/Greens

  1. jenny thill

    July 3, 2009 at 3:04 AM

    I am so gonna make this!

     
    • sarahnett

      July 3, 2009 at 3:21 AM

      You will love it Jenny!

       
  2. jenny thill

    July 9, 2009 at 1:25 AM

    I totally loved it. I never would have thought to make pesto out of my sage. I also liked the honey/balsamic vin combo for the beet greens. Your ideas never disappoint!

     

Leave a Reply

 
