RSS

Chicken in a Thai Basil Coconut Curry Sauce

31 Jul

005

This is my take on Thai Chicken.  I know it is not authentic Thai, but it was a good version nonetheless.

I used what I had in my pantry and to be quite honest, it came out pretty darn good.  Nice and coconut-y with a kick from the chilis.  I served it over brown rice since I try to refrain from using white grains (I make an exception  when I bake).

The chicken fell off the bone, the sauce was thick and spicy and the basil really came through.  I am very pleased with the results and will definately be making this again.

Chicken w/ Thai Basil Coconut Curry Sauce

  • What ever chicken pieces you would like (bone in), I used thighs from a HighCross Farm raised Chicken…lucky me.
  • 1 can of low-fat coconut milk
  • 3 red chilis (I used dry)
  • 4 tblsp canola oil
  • 1 c of sweet thai basil
  • 1 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 small onion, chopped
  • 3 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 1 tblsp fresh ginger, finely chopped
  • 1/4 c chicken stock
  • S & P to taste
  • Soy sauce to taste (if you use this, go easy on the salt)

In a large skillet, brown your chicken in the canola oil (season with S & P first). You dont need to cook it all the way, it will cook in the sauce for quite some time.  Once your chicken is browned, transfer to a paper towel lined place.

If there is a lot of oil left in the pan you can take some out.  Be sure to leave enough to sautee the garlic and ginger. Once you have the garlic and ginger soft, deglaze the pan with the chicken stock and add the onions.

When the onions get translucent, add the coconut milk, chilis, curry powder, soy sauce and basil.  Put the chicken back in pan and let simmer for at least 30-45 minutes.

I know it doesn’t have any fish sauce or lemon grass or other ingredients you would use in authentic Thai cooking, but believe me when I tell you….This is GOOD!

009

Place a piece of chicken over the rice and spoon the sauce over it all.  Enjoy.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 31, 2009 in chicken, coconut, curry, thai

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Chicken in a Thai Basil Coconut Curry Sauce

  1. steph & jess

    September 14, 2010 at 3:48 PM

    i think i’ll make this for dinner tonight. with tofu instead of chicken. thanks!

     

Leave a Reply

 
