RSS

Egg White Omelette with Asian Greens & Zucchini

15 Aug

004

Eating healthy, I have finally found out, doesn’t have to suck.  I really am enjoying this life style change.  That is exactly what it is…a life style change.  I have changed the way I live my life.  I wish I had done it sooner.  Coulda..woulda..shoulda.  But enough about that.  On to the food.

I used to balk when someone mentioned eating an egg white omelette.  To me the egg whites were the slime and all the good stuff was in the yolk.  I didn’t realize how very wrong  I was.

This omelette is incredibly light and not greasy at all. 

The supplies:

  • 3 large egg whites
  • 1/2 or whole piece of provolone cheese, cut up
  • 1/2 c chopped zucchini
  • 1 c chopped asian greens
  • 1 garlic clove, minced
  • S & P to taste
  • Cooking spray

Spray cooking spray on the bottom and sides of a small frying pan.  Sautee zucchini, garlic and greens until soft (but not mushy, you want bite to them still).  Set aside.

Respray the same pan you cooked your veggies in.

In a stand mixer or with a hand mixer beat egg whites until soft peaks form.

Place your fluffy egg whites into frying pan.  Do not be alarmed when you see this…

003

My egg whites came up to the tippy-top of my pan.  That is a good thing, you will have a nice thick and fluffy omelette. 

Cook on medium high heat and keep an eye on the bottom.  When you see the bottom of the omelette start to turn golden brown sprinkle the veg mix and cheese over the top. 

Flip one half of the omlette over the other and let cook for about 5 mins.

Slide onto a plate and enjoy. 

The inside…

005

Look at that gooey cheese. 

I had mine with a side of turkey bacon and two slices of Healthy Life Wheat Bread.

006

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 15, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 93 other followers

