RSS

Eggplant & Smoked Salmon w/ Horseradish Sauce

03 Sep

006

I wanted to do something different with the eggplant I got in my CSA box.  I found this recipe and thought I would put my spin on it.

I really loved the lightly fried eggplant.  I think this has become my favorite way to eat eggplant. Soooo good!

Supplies:

  • 1 eggplant, thinly sliced
  • bread, sliced and toasted
  •  smoked salmon
  •  horseradish, either grated fresh or bought in tubes
  • 2 tablespoons low-fat sour cream
  • fennel fronds
  • fresh ground black pepper
  • olive oil

– Slice the eggplant thinly and fry in olive oil. Put on kitchen towel paper to drip off the excess oil and sprinkle a little salt over the slices.
– Cut the salmon into thin strips.
– Mix as much horseradish and fennel fronds as you feel like with the sour cream.
– Now put a couple of slices of eggplants on each toasted bread, add salmon strips on them and top with the horseradish mix.


 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on September 3, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Eggplant & Smoked Salmon w/ Horseradish Sauce

  1. emma schultz

    July 12, 2011 at 3:31 PM

    I was looking for a way to combine an eggplant with a huge jar of homemade prepared horseradish that’s been growing old in my freezer. This looks simple and delicious – I’ll have to skip the salmon this time around though.

    Woop my first attempt with eggplant -> dinner!

    Thanks for the recipe:)

     

Leave a Reply

 
