RSS

Individual Parsley Scalloped Potatoes

08 Sep

018

My CSA boxes have been packed with so much awesome-ness.  I took the new potatoes and flat leaf Italian parsley that were in this week’s box and made some individual scalloped potatoes.

I used the parsley to make a parsley bechamel sauce, and it was fantastic!  I also nuked the potatoes whole in the microwave for a little bit before cooking them in the oven.  It really made a difference in cooking time.

I also made this dish as low-fat as I possibly could. 🙂

Supplies:

  • 1 tablespoon blue bonnet spread
  • 1 tablespoon all purpose flour
  • 1 c. skim milk
  • S & P to taste
  • 5-6 new potatoes
  • a good handful of Italian flat leaf parsely, chopped
  • Shredded cheese of your choice (I had some sharp white cheddar in the fridge)
  • Ham, diced (I used small ham rounds since 2 sliced were only 50 calories)

In a sauce pan melt the margarine over medium heat.  Add flour and whisk.  Let it cook for a bout a minute to get out the floury taste.  Add milk and whisk until thick.  Add chopped parsley, salt and pepper and let sit (whisking occasionally).

Prick your potatoes with a fork and place on a microwaveable dish.  Cover with a damn paper towel and nuke for about 7 minutes.  You don’t want your potatoes cooked to the point of mush.  You still want a firmness to them so you can slice them.  They will finish cooking in the oven.  Slice into rounds and set aside.

Spray your muffin tin with cooking spray and start layering your scalloped potatoes.

  • Potatoes
  • ham
  • cheese
  • bechamel sauce

Repeat until you come to the top of the muffin tin.  It took about three potato rounds to come up to the top of my muffin tin.  I topped mine with a parsley leaf for aesthetic purposes only.

Before putting them into the oven…

014

Pop into a 400 degree oven for about 30-40 minutes (or until nice and golden brown on top).

After…

016

These are perfect! Perfect portion, perfect flavor, perfect everything.  I will make these again for sure. 

Note:  I did not salt my bechamel sauce since there is ham and cheese in the recipe.  It came out perfectly salted.  If you like salt, then by all means salt away.  I was pepper heavy, but that is just my taste.  Play with the recipe.

 
2 Comments

Posted by on September 8, 2009 in cheese, parsely, potatoes

 

Tags: , ,

2 responses to “Individual Parsley Scalloped Potatoes

  1. SupaWaifu

    September 8, 2009 at 5:01 AM

    Yum that looks delicious

     
  2. Curley

    January 29, 2010 at 11:55 PM

    These look so good. This is perfect for a family member
    who does not eat cheese. This way everyone can have
    the real thing just as they like it.
    I wish I knew how many ‘muffins’ the recipe makes.

     

Leave a Reply

 
