RSS

Paprika Roasted Red Potatoes w/ Kale Pesto

23 Jun

Ahhh Kale…

So pretty, so good for you.  I have to admit, when I first started being a CSA member I didn’t have a clue what to do with kale.  I’m still learning.  HighCross Farm has some of the prettiest Kale I’ve ever seen by the way…

While perusing  some of my favorite food sites, I happened upon a video from someone who calls himself The Hippy Gourmet.  He was making Paprika roasted potatoes and Kale pesto.  I simply had to try it.  Let me tell you, Kale pesto is AMAZING.  I think it’s even better than the basil or arugula pesto I’ve made in the past.

The crispiness from the potatoes with the creaminess of the Kale pesto and an added punch from the grated Romano is heaven in your mouth. You will LOVE this recipe.

Supplies

  • Red potatoes, cut into halves or quarters
  • Olive oil
  • Paprika
  • Garlic powder
  • Salt
  • Pepper
  • 1 bunch of kale
  • 3 large cloves of garlic
  • 1/2 C toasted walnuts
  • Grated Romano cheese (you can use Parm or Asiago as well)
  • Olive oil

Par boil your potatoes so they are soft, but not to the point of mush.  Drain and toss with enough oil to cover, paprika, garlic powder, salt and pepper. Spread out on a baking sheet and bake on 450 until crispy (about 40 mins).

For the Pesto:

Remove the hard stem from the kale and drop into boiling water.  Boil kale until soft. This only takes a few minutes.

Drain off the kale and put into a food processor with the garlic, walnuts and cheese. Pulse until finely ground.

Drizzle in enough olive oil to bind it all together. You want it nice and thick, not oily and runny.

While the potatoes are still warm, dollop the pesto over the top.  Shave some cheese over the pesto and enjoy!

 
3 Comments

Posted by on June 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Paprika Roasted Red Potatoes w/ Kale Pesto

  1. lisa

    August 22, 2010 at 1:53 PM

    It never occurred to me to make a pesto out of kale! I’m going to have to try this, as I love pesto. I have an arugula pesto recipe, which is vegan (with walnut oil, walnuts and balsamic vinegar), that is mixed with barley that I got from Epicurious, which is fantastic.
    Thanks for sharing!

     
  2. Melissa (Funcke) Blaske

    June 29, 2011 at 2:18 PM

    What a GREAT idea! I’m getting a CSA Box (different farm) tonight and hoping for Kale now 🙂

     

Leave a Reply

 
