RSS

Defeated

12 Aug

Defeated. That is how I have been feeling lately.  I started this humbled little space on the internet to show how lucky I was to be a CSA member to show you (and keep record for myself) what I could do with what was given to me.

I don’t have the best equipment, lighting etc, but what I had/have was/is heart. I pour my heart into everything I make.  Granted I fight with time, but I do plant myself firmly in the kitchen and relish the free moments I do get.

I don’t want to whine about better blogs, etc.   What I do want to say is that cooking is my Zen.  When I have been feeling low like I have been lately, I can throw on an apron, open my refrigerator and play. Cooking soothes my soul.  I meditate, I reflect, and I pray when I am alone in the kitchen.

CSA member or not.  Food blogger or not.  My kitchen will always be my culinary sanctuary.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

3 responses to “Defeated

  1. Miss Becky

    August 12, 2010 at 3:08 PM

    your blog is beautiful. It is an easy thing to visit other blogs and ooh and ahh over the food photos and then do a comparison. It is a bit more difficult to keep on doing what you decided to do, even on foggy days. That you love your blog and what you do is apparent in your words and photos and I believe that you deserve a pat on the back for just that.
    I read every post, and though I don’t comment, I am going to begin doing that, because I was just at another site this morning where I visited often but never commented until there was a giveaway. Well guess what ~ I won the giveaway. Not a real good feeling in spite of having won something. I wasn’t polite, you see. I visited w/o saying hello. So…combine that experience with your beautifully honest post here and I have learned a valuable lesson. I have all these wonderful blogs included in my google reader and visit every time a new post goes up but I forget my manners and leave with out waving hello. Have yourself a beautiful day Sarah!!!

     
  2. beth

    August 14, 2010 at 6:11 PM

    Your cooking is not only your sanctuary, but also your art. And art is that which connects us to the transcendent, the divine, whatever you want to call it or however you experience it. Cooking is also a gift to others, so be encouraged in your culinary pursuits. Are you familiar with the short story and the film “Babette’s Feast”? (You being such a foodie, I’ll bet you are.) It is such a wonderful tale of the artistic and spiritual aspects of cooking for others, of sharing one’s art.

    Hope you’re re-created, re-stored, and continuing what you love.

     
  3. lisa

    August 22, 2010 at 12:46 AM

    Hi Sarah,

    I just stumbled upon your site earlier today while I was combing the internet for a simple cobbler recipe for the blackberries and raspberries I purchased from the Farmer’s Market in Union Sq. And while I haven’t read every post, I like what I have read. Keep it up! And, please don’t feel defeated. As you said above, cooking is your Zen, and that you “…relish the free moments I do get” in the kitchen.
    *That* is what is important. 🙂

    Oh, and my cobbler was very yummy!

     

Leave a Reply

 
