RSS

Warm Eggplant & Summer Squash Bruschetta

12 Aug

I love, love, LOVE bruschetta.  I normally go for the typical tomato, basil, mozzarella bruschetta.  This time I decided to go with a super chunky, ultra rustic, warm bruschetta to put atop my fresh loaf of Italian bread.

This is rich and full of flavor without being too heavy for a summer dish.

I think I used 90% of my CSA box with this recipe.  This was a total experiment that pleased me to no end.

This recipe makes quite a lot, so grab a big loaf of fresh bread, a handful of good friends, a beverage of your choice and ENJOY.

Supplies:

  • 1 large zucchini, roughly chopped
  • 1 yellow squash, roughly chopped
  • 1 medium sized egg plant, roughly chopped
  • 1 small can of diced tomatoes, juice and all
  • 3 fresh tomatoes, peeled and you guessed it, roughly chopped
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 3/4 c red wine of your choice
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 1 handful fresh basil. I received some beautiful lemon basil in my box this week.
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • S & P to taste
  • Fresh bread, toasted
  • Grated Parmesan, optional

In a large dutch oven sweat your diced onions in heated olive oil.  Sauté until translucent. Add garlic and sautee until fragrant.  You want to be able to smell the garlic, but be careful not to burn the garlic.

Once you are able to smell the garlic add the squash and egg plant.  Sauté until they start to get golden brown.

Add the wine, tomatoes and basil and let simmer for about 3o minutes; stirring often.You want the liquid to reduce by half. Salt and pepper to your taste.

The squash and eggplant will be soft and you will be left with this delectable sauce to sop up with your bread.

Top your toasted bread with some bruschetta and top with grated parm.

Side note:  If you can get lemon basil, I suggest you do so.  The aroma and flavor it gives this dish is out of this world. Sublime.  If you want a little heat, go ahead and add some crushed red pepper flakes or thai chilies.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on August 12, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , , , ,

3 responses to “Warm Eggplant & Summer Squash Bruschetta

  1. Cindy

    August 12, 2010 at 3:35 AM

    Another winner, Sarah! I’ve even got lemon basil.

    I made the corn/squash chowder the other day. Very yummy.

     
    • sarahnett

      August 12, 2010 at 3:40 AM

      Thank you so much Cindy. Your kind words mean a lot. I’m glad you liked the corn/squash chowder.

       
  2. Miss Becky

    August 12, 2010 at 3:14 PM

    this is going to be perfect for Packer Sundays coming up soon. I have some zucchini plants that are going wild, and my tomatoes are ripening finally, my eggplants are plentiful, peppers too, and basil for the whole neighborhood. All I’ll need is a yellow squash from farmer’s market and there you have it ~ delicious!

     

Leave a Reply

 
