RSS

Chunky Basil Dressing

13 Aug

I sure do love salad in the summer.  What I don’t love is store bought salad dressings.  I’ll admit it, I’m a control freak.  I like to control how salty, sweet, spicy my food should be. Packaged foods like bottle salad dressings don’t let me have control.

This recipe is fantastic.  I used a coconut white balsamic vinegar I got at Oro Di Oliva in Wauwautosa, WI. This gave the dressing such a wonderful undertone.

All the veg and herbs came from Highcross Farm.  They truly have the best produce in the world. I may be a little biased.

Supplies

  • 1 cup of loose fresh basil
  • 2 tablespoon balsamic vinegar of your choice
  • 1/2 red onion, diced
  • 2 tablespoons mayonaise, I used light mayo
  • 6 tablespoons olive oil
  • S & P to taste

I put everything into the food processor and let it rip until it reached a nice creamy, chunky consistency.

I spooned some over  thinly sliced tomato and cucumber from Highcross Farm.   Heaven.

This is a perfect, light dish for this ridiculously hot Wisconsin weather we are having.

Enjoy!


 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

2 responses to “Chunky Basil Dressing

  1. Cindy

    August 13, 2010 at 2:27 AM

    Thanks for the idea. Pine nuts are soooo expensive so I don’t want to turn all of the basil into pesto. Will try this tomorrow.

     
    • sarahnett

      August 13, 2010 at 2:55 AM

      Thanks Cindy! I really am over pesto this summer. Pine nuts are crazy expensive and walnuts just aren’t the same. This recipe is a keeper in my house, both kids liked it. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
