RSS

Grilled Chicken with a Bell Pepper-Kale Sauce

13 Aug

Finding different ways to use Kale has been my challenge for the summer.  When I saw bell peppers in the box with kale the wheels in my head started turning.  I came up with a pretty tasty sauce to accompany my grilled chicken.

The bell pepper isn’t too overpowering and the kale is subtle.

I love when an experiment turns out awesome.

Supplies

  • 2 bell peppers, seeded and chopped
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil
  • 1 small can chicken broth (I used lower sodium)
  • 1 small bunch of basil, I used the purple basil in my box
  • 2 cups kale, chopped (I used both varieties in my box)
  • S & P to taste

In a deep pan sauté the onion, pepper and garlic until the peppers are soft.

Add 1/2 the can of chicken broth. Bring to a boil. Lower heat and let simmer until reduced by half. About 7 mins.

Turn off heat and let cool for a little bit.

Add to food processor and puree.  Add remaining chicken broth until you get a sauce-like consistency.  Add salt and pepper to taste.  Spoon over, under or on the side of desired protein. Tonight it was grilled chicken.

Enjoy!

Note: Please don’t mind my garnish fail. The purple basil flowers looked better in person than on camera.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 13, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

One response to “Grilled Chicken with a Bell Pepper-Kale Sauce

  1. Miss Becky

    August 13, 2010 at 2:20 PM

    I have kale that I need to use up too, and all the other ingredients are in the garden, good to go. I’m adding this to my list of things to try! It not only sounds/looks tasty, it’s healthy too. thanks.

     

Leave a Reply

 
