RSS

Minty Melon Soup

23 Aug

It has been unbearably hot in Wisconsin this month. Almost too hot; too hot to turn on my oven.  So I have been taking what is my CSA box and trying to make dishes I don’t have to cook.

I received a wonderful muskmelon in my box this week and wanted to try making a chilled melon soup.  I have an abundance of mint growing on my back porch and thought the two would pair nicely.  I was right.

What I got was a clean, refreshing cool summer soup that pleased my family to no end.  Better yet, I didn’t have to even go near my oven. Love that!

This recipe couldn’t be simpler.  All you need is a blender or food processor and 15 minutes of your time and you are done.

Supplies:

  • 1 ripe melon, peeled, seeded and chopped into a rough dice
  • 10 mint leaves
  • 1 tablespoon. honey
  • 2 tablespoons, lemon juice
  • 2 tablespoons, heavy cream
  • 1/2 teaspoon, cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon, ground ginger (use fresh if you have it)

Here are the directions, do try not to get lost. 🙂

Put it all in a blender or food processor and puree.  That’s it.

Put into a container and chill until cold. Garnish with fresh mint.

Enjoy!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

Leave a Reply

 
