RSS

Zucchini & Red Potato Frittata

23 Aug

I keep waiting for that glorious day I can quit my job and devote all my time to cooking.  I guess I will keep buying those powerball tickets.

With my frenzied work week schedule I find that I have to force myself to eat some kind of breakfast.  Normally it’s a bowl of cereal and some fruit.  But as the days get shorter and the nights eventually get colder, my body craves more sustenance.

A frittata makes perfect sense. I can make it ahead of time, it’s easily to reheat, and it freezes well.  I was inspired by a recipe found here. I just tweaked the recipe to suite my taste.

To stay true to my crusade of eating healthy and losing weight I used egg beaters instead of eggs. Now before you cringe, Egg Beaters have half the calories and none of the cholesterol regular eggs have and they really do taste good. But I digress…

I used the zucchini and potatoes I got from HighCross Farm because they are the best around.  I had some shredded mozzarella/provolone mix on hand as well as some low-fat ricotta.

This more than exceeded my expectations.  It fluffed up so nice in the oven and the potatoes and zucchini were cooked to perfection. And the ricotta, oooooooh the ricotta. When you get some ricotta in your mouth you get a bite of warm, velvety awesomeness.

Supplies:

  • 1 16 oz container of egg beaters (or you can use 4 eggs)
  • 4 slices of canadian bacon, diced
  • 1 medium zucchini, sliced thin
  • 5 baby red potatoes, sliced thin
  • 1 medium onion, sliced thin
  • 4-5 tbsp olive oil, more if needed
  • 1 c grated cheese of your choice
  • 5-6 dollops of low-fat ricotta
  • S & P to taste

(directions copied and pasted from site)

Combine the zucchini and 1 teaspoon salt in a colander and toss well. Set aside to drain for 30 minutes. Heat 3 tablespoons of the oil over medium-high heat in a large, well-seasoned cast-iron skillet or ovenproof nonstick skillet. Add the potatoes and onion, reduce the heat to medium-low, and cook, flipping and stirring occasionally, until the potatoes are soft, about 20 minutes.

Increase the heat to medium-high and continue cooking, tossing occasionally, until the potatoes are are brown, about 5 minutes. Remove the potatoes with a slotted spoon but keep the skillet on the burner. Transfer the zucchini to a clean kitchen towel and pat dry. Add the zucchini and Canadian bacon to the skillet and sauté over medium-high heat, until the zucchini is just tender, about 4 minutes. Remove the zucchini and Canadian bacon with a slotted spoon.

Keep the skillet over the heat. Beat the eggs (or add egg beaters) and pepper to taste in a medium bowl until well blended. Fold in the potatoes, zucchini and Canadian bacon, and cheese. Dollop the ricotta over the top of the frittata so you get some in every bite. Preheat the oven to 350°F. Add 1 to 2 tablespoons of the remaining oil to the skillet as needed to lightly coat the bottom. Pour in the egg mixture, reduce the heat to medium-low, and cook without stirring until the bottom is set, about 10 minutes.

Transfer the skillet to the oven and bake until the top is set, 5 to 15 minutes, checking every 5 minutes. Place a serving plate on top of the skillet and carefully invert. The frittata should fall out of the pan. Cut into wedges and serve.

Enjoy!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on August 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

2 responses to “Zucchini & Red Potato Frittata

  1. Chef Chuck

    August 26, 2010 at 2:44 AM

    Very Cool, I like the bacon!! I did something similar today! Check it out:)
    Thank you

     
    • sarahnett

      August 26, 2010 at 3:18 AM

      I would like a piece of your Walnut Nutella Torta please. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
