RSS

Ground Cherry Hot Sauce

03 Sep

I’ve never really cooked with these beauties until I became a CSA member.

I’ve made a pie. I tried and failed at making preserves. This season I decided to go big or go home.  I had found an old recipe for a cherry hot sauce using Door County cherries.  Granted, ground cherries aren’t as sweet as a Door County cherry; they still have great flavor.

The recipe also called for a habenero pepper. I used the jalapeño pepper that was in my box.  This recipe is easy, quick and you can control how hot or mild you want your hot sauce.  This recipe calls for granulated sugar, but I find that honey gives it a richer under tone. Besides, honey is natural, granulated sugar is not.

Supplies:

  • 1 C white vinegar
  • 1/2 C cider vinegar
  • 1 lb or so for ground cherries (give or take), husked, rinsed and drained
  • 1 jalapeño pepper, seeded and cut up (I like my sauce on the hot side so I left the seeds in)
  • 1/4 C honey (more if you want your sauce on the sweet side)
  • 1 glass bottle, cleaned and dried

In a sauce pan add the vinegars, ground cherries and pepper.

Boil until the cherries and pepper are soft.  This took me on a gas stove about 15 minutes.

Let cool then add to a food processor and puree.

Put puree back into the sauce pan and add the honey and salt. Bring back to a soft boil and reduce until desired consistency.

Funnel into clean jar and et voila!

 
8 Comments

Posted by on September 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Ground Cherry Hot Sauce

  1. Rob Carlson

    September 29, 2010 at 4:54 AM

    First off– Hurray for you Sarah setting up a blog (and having the discipline to update it). May your passion, curiosity and mission guide you.

    That said, I’m not a cherry fan (and to be honest didn’t know that some had husks) but that looks interesting. I assume it keeps a long time. What would you put this on?

    Peace Out.

     
  2. alexis

    September 9, 2011 at 12:37 PM

    This recipe looks awesome! I’ve never known what to do with ground cherries, but if I can still find some at my local market, I’m totally going to give this a try 🙂

     
    • Sarah Nett

      September 15, 2011 at 1:25 PM

      Did you make this yet?

       
  3. Tamara

    August 8, 2013 at 8:27 PM

    They aren’t cherries. They are related to tomatillos and tomatoes. Like a tomato mated with a pineapple in flavor.

     
    • Sarah Nett

      August 9, 2013 at 6:22 AM

      That is what the call them here by me. Regardless, they are pretty good.

       
      • Tamara

        August 9, 2013 at 7:52 AM

        I was referring to Rob’s comment. They aren’t cherries with husks, they just have cherry in their name.

         
  4. Suzy

    July 10, 2015 at 9:05 AM

    Your directions mention salt, but it’s not listed in ingredients. How much salt do you use ? 🙂

     
  5. Michelle

    October 6, 2015 at 5:39 PM

    I just made this today – so good! I was licking the spatula 😄 I lived in Mexico for a number of years, and this may be my favorite hot sauce to date. Thanks for the great idea.

     

Leave a Reply

 
