RSS

Cheesy Spaghetti Squash w/ Chick Peas & Arugula

01 Oct

I seriously have fallen in love with squash. I get picture perfect squash in my CSA boxes and I love it.  This week I received a beautiful spaghetti squash.

I love the versatility of squash. You can do just about anything with it.

Tonight I came home starved. I decided to steam the spaghetti squash in the microwave then sautee it on the stove with the arugula and tomatoes that were also in my box.  I threw in some chick peas to sneak in a little protein as well.  I brought it all together with a generous handful of fresh grated parmesan cheese.  Perfect!

This was amazing. I waited until the last minute to add the arugula and tomatoes as to keep their color and shape. It really helped keep the peppery bite of arugula in tact.

Supplies:

  • 1 spaghetti squah, but in half and seeded
  • 1/4 c water
  • 1 good handful of arugula
  • 1/2 can of chick peas, drained
  • 2 cloves garlic, finely chopped
  • 6 cherry tomatoes, halved
  • 1.5 tablespoons olive oil
  • 3/4 c fresh grated Parmesan cheese
  • S & P to taste

Put the squash in a microwave save dish and add water. Cover with plastic wrap and microwave on high until fork tender (about 15 mins). Set aside and let cool.

In a deep skillet sautee the garlic in olive oil until fragrant. Don’t burn the garlic, it will taste bitter.

Add the chick peas and sautee until beans are warmed through.  Add squash, arugula  and tomatoes.  Sautee until warmed through.

Add cheese.  Continue to cook until cheese melts. You will see lovely strings of Parmesan when you stir it around.

Serve and enjoy!

 
1 Comment

Posted by on October 1, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Cheesy Spaghetti Squash w/ Chick Peas & Arugula

Leave a Reply

 
