RSS

Roasted Potato Pizza

07 Oct

I love that the cooler weather is allowing me to use my oven again.  I was getting to darn near grill overkill.  I was in the mood for pizza so I improvised.

In my CSA box was bag of potatoes.  Not just any potato, but one with a beautiful pink flesh.  I thought they might taste pretty good on top of a crust with cheese. I was right.  I decided to take my pizza to a new level.  I caramelized some onions and utilized the shredded mozzarella-provolone mix and crumbled goat cheese I had in the refrigerator.

Let me tell you, outstanding!  I used some fresh rosemary and thyme from my garden to bring the flavors all together.  It was pizza nirvana.  You got the sharpness from the mozz/prov cheese, the sweetness from the onions, topped off with the tangy-creaminess of the goat cheese.  Heaven.

Supplies:

  • 1 store bought tin of pizza dough
  • 5 small red potatoes, washed, dried and thinly sliced
  • 1 large onion, thinly sliced
  • Olive oil
  • 1 c shredded mozzarella/provolone cheese
  • 1/4 c crumbled goat cheese
  • fresh thyme and rosemary, chopped
  • S & P to taste

Line your sliced potatoes on a cookie sheet and drizzle with olive oil until just coated.  Bake at 400 until soft in the center (about 15- 20 mins).  Don’t cut your potatoes too thin, they will turn into potato chips if you do. You don’t want that. Once done, set off to the side to cool

Meanwhile as your potatoes are roasting, caramelize your onion.  Sautee onions in a large enough pan with 2 tablespoons of olive oil on medium heat.  Stir around until your onions turn a beautiful brownish color and get soft. Set off to the side to cool.

Heat a pizza stone at 450 until good and hot. I put the pizza stone in the oven when I took the potatoes out.

Take your pizza dough out of the tin and shape on a cornmeal dusted pizza peel.  Don’t have cornmeal? Grits work just fine too.

Drizzle a little olive oil over dough.  Add shredded cheese, then layer the potatoes.  Next add the onions, and chopped herbs.  Sprinkle the crumbled goat cheese over the top and slide your pizza onto the hot pizza stone.

Let cook for 15-18 minutes or until the crust is golden brown and the cheese just melts.

My rustic (for lack of a better word) finished product…

Go..make..now!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 7, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
