RSS

Cinnamon and Sage Acorn Squash Puree

28 Oct

I am a 40 year old woman….with braces.  Why I decided to torture myself with orthodontia is beyond me, but I did.  What I found with having braces is that when your teeth move, so do the wires.  The past month the wires on my teeth have been shredding the inside of my mouth making eating unbearable.  Chewing has been next to impossible, but I have to eat right?

I decided to make a puree out of the acorn squash that was in one of my CSA boxes.

This recipe is easy, just the way I like it.  It was so silky and creamy. It felt so good in my sore mouth.

Supplies:

  • 1 acorn squash, seeded
  • 3 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon cinnamon
  • 5 sage leaves, finely chopped
  • S & P to taste

I cut my acorn squash in half, seeded it out and steamed it in the microwave for 8 minutes until a fork could easily be inserted into the flesh.

Put squash in a blender or food processor with rest of ingredients and puree until smooth and the sage is well incorporated throughout.  If you want,  you could always crisp the sage in a little hot oil, just be sure not to burn it.

I froze leftovers in ice cube trays and put the frozen cubes in a freezer bag to save for another day.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on October 28, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

Leave a Reply

 
