RSS

Asparagus & Ramps

02 Jun

I’m back! Woohoo! It’s been such a long winter in Wisconsin.  I thought  I would never get my hands on fresh produce again.  All I’ve done all Winter is bake.  I have to be rolled out of my house now. I kid, I kid.

I attended the opening day of the Fond du Lac Farmer’s Market and picked up some asparagus.  I also found a vendor who had some ramps.

Oh how I love ramps!  I was introduced to ramps by Kath Vogelmann @ HighCross Farm.  Ramps are a cross between a leek and garlic. They are grown wild in the woods here in Wisconsin and are fantastic to cook with. It’s a pity the window to get ramps is such a small one.

The flavor of the ramps isn’t overpowering and paired well with the asparagus.   This dish couldn’t be simpler.

Supplies:

  • 1 bunch of asparagus, hard ends snapped off
  • 1 bunch of ramps, cleaned and thinly sliced
  • Water for boiling
  • 1 bowl full of ice water
  • 1-2 tbsp olive oil
  • S&P to taste

The first thing I did was blanch the asparagus.  I boiled the asparagus for a minute or two then stopped the cooking process immediately but putting the asparagus in a bowl of ice water. This will keep the asparagus’ vibrant green color.

Next, sautee the ramps in olive oil until they start to become translucent.  Add the drained asparagus to the ramps and sautee until heated through, turning often. Season with salt/pepper.  Transfer to a plate and enjoy.

My boyfriend was a little sketch about eating something (ramps) that came from the woods, but after eating this he is now a believer. Can I get an Amen? 🙂

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 2, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a Reply

 
