RSS

Zucchini-Coconut Bread w/ Coconut-Lime Glaze

21 Jul

It has been a whirlwind month for me.  My boyfriend went in for routine surgery just to find out he has cancer.  Malignant Melanoma to be exact.  Two surgeries, buckets of tears, and a whole lot of worry later I find solace in my kitchen.  My sanctuary, my oasis. Oasis had me thinking of sun, which had me thinking of palm trees, which led my mind to coconut. Inspired!  I perused the internet looking for something tropical.  Something a little different, but not really (if that makes sense).

I found a recipe that was coconutty, lime-y and best of all, called for zucchini (which just so happened to be in my CSA box this week). Score! I found the recipe here. I knew this recipe was a keeper when I couldn’t stop sticking my finger in the batter bowl.

Let’s talk about the glaze. Oh that glaze!  A perfect balance of sweet and tart. I love how the coconut and the lime play nice together.  The recipe makes lots of wonderful glaze and I let every last drop ooze down the sides and all around the loaf of bread.  Sublime is putting it mildly.

This recipe is easy. I know, I say that all the time. It’s true.  I whipped this together in less than 30, let it bake for 60, scarfed down a piece in less than 1 *blush*

Supplies: (Recipe copied and pasted)

  • 1/4 cup Butter
  • 1 cup Sugar (you might want to increase the amount, if you like yours more sweet)
  • 2 whole Eggs
  • 1 1/2 cups ripe zucchini, grated (about 2 zucchinis)
  • 1/3 cup plain Low or No-Fat Greek Yogurt
  • 1 tsp Rum or Rum Extract (I don’t have rum, so I used coconut extract)
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 2/3 cup flaked sweetened Coconut
  • 3/4 tsp Baking Soda
  • 1/2 tsp Salt
  • 2 cups All-Purpose Flour
  1. Preheat oven to 350 F. Grease a loaf pan.
  2. Cream butter and sugar then beat in eggs, one at a time.
  3. Add zucchini, yogurt, vanilla and the rum. Beat until well blended.
  4. Stir in coconut and all dry ingredients until just blended. Don’t over stir.
  5. Spoon batter into loaf pan.
  6. Bake for about an hour, or until toothpick comes out clean from the middle of the bread.
  7. Cool in the pan for 10 minutes or so, then transfer to serving plate.

For the glaze:

  • 3 cups Powdered Sugar
  • 1 tsp Vanilla Extract
  • 1 tsp Rum or Rum Extract (again used coconut extract)
  • 3 Tbsp fresh squeezed Lime Juice
  • Milk to get glaze to the right consistency (you can use coconut milk, in case you have that in hand)
  • Zest of 1 lime
  1. Mix all ingredients except milk in a medium bowl. Add milk until it becomes a thick but smooth glaze. Set aside.
  2. Toast coconut under the broiler until just browned. Set aside.
  3. Drizzle glaze over bread. Top with toasted coconut and lime zest.

I used the largest bread pan I had, I suggest you do too. My batter came a little over the sides. No biggie.  I also added the zest to the glaze itself instead of sprinkling it on top to give the glaze an extra lime punch.

I really hope you try this and love it as much as I did.  If you change it up, I’d love to hear from you.

 

 

 

 

 
8 Comments

Posted by on July 21, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

8 responses to “Zucchini-Coconut Bread w/ Coconut-Lime Glaze

  1. tofugirl

    July 21, 2011 at 6:33 AM

    This looks great! I also got zucchini in my CSA this week and I’m tired of using it in stir fry! I really hope the heat breaks enough for me to turn the oven on and try this bread out…

     
    • Sarah Nett

      July 21, 2011 at 6:54 AM

      I thank God for my central air. When the heat breaks, do try this recipe. You will love it!

       
  2. Karen

    July 21, 2011 at 7:22 AM

    Can’t wait to make this! I’m sure my kids will devour it…if they can get to it before me that is!

     
  3. Melissa (Funcke) Blaske

    July 21, 2011 at 8:16 AM

    Hi Sarah, can you email me at: oil.enthusiast@gmail.com? It’s about the cancer. By the way, I love, love, love (did I mention, love?) your blogs 🙂

     
    • Sarah Nett

      July 21, 2011 at 8:29 AM

      Melissa,

      I need to head out to work right now, but will email you as soon as I come home tonight! I’m glad you love my blog, puts a big smile on my face today.

       
  4. Shumaila

    July 21, 2011 at 9:42 PM

    Sarah,

    I am glad you liked the recipe and I too love that glaze- isn’t it the best thing!

    I hope your boyfriend is recovering fine! I have a grandmother suffering from cancer, so can imagine the pain but I hope it was caught on early and he is fine asap!

    On a totally weird note, I am happy though that a recipe from my blog could help you lift your spirits! I feel special:)!

     
    • Sarah Nett

      July 22, 2011 at 5:43 AM

      It definitely is a keeper. Coconut and zucchini, who would have thought. I just got a mother load of zucchini in my box last night. Darn, I’m going to have to make this again. 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
